Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Is any body as frustrated as I am? No Powder to buy!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2013, 11:30 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Is any body as frustrated as I am? No Powder to buy!

tag

5 Acres on the east side of the Coburg hills in Oregon.

I have Two Dogs, but my 10mm is for protection
Old 07-08-2013, 11:46 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by new shooter View Post
The real problem is not a sortage there is all the powder we nead. But the law say that a truck can only hall 100 pounds at a time. That is what Ramshot powder told me. DOT law.
I beg to differ with you on that premise. You see, I'm a safety and comnpliance officer foir a large trucking company and one of my area's of expertise is DOT regulations as they pertain to over the road trucks. I deal with that everyday.

BTW, it's not DOT law. It's DOT regulations. The DOT is not a governing body, they just apply and enforce the regulations as set forth by the Federal Government.

Explosives (powder) in this case in quantities of less than 5,000 pounds, while ORMD classified, cannot be mixed on any truck, however, in quantities over 5,000 pounds, so long as it's properly placarded and the driver has his Haz-Mat endorsement on his CDL, there is no issue with transportation. Thats right out of the DOT Part 95 handbook for intrastate and interstate transportation.

Thats why most powder deliveries are handled through UPS, even to retailers.

Whoever at Ramshot told you that is FOS plain and simple.
Old 07-09-2013, 06:12 AM
Silver Member