Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Alliant RL powders compared to Hodgdon Exteme

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2011, 09:31 PM
Bronze Member

Alliant RL powders compared to Hodgdon Exteme

I am new to metallic reloading, been doing shotshell for quite a while, and I realize they are not the same thing.

I am curious as to if the Alliant reloader series of powders is as temperature insensitive as the Hodgdon Extreme series of powders is.

I am in Wisconsin and at least at this time would like to work up a load that a rifle likes and just go with it rather than a summer load and and winter load.... so the idea of the stability of the Extreme series is appealing to me.

So what have your experiences been.

Right now I am loading for my 223 Rem, 223 Ackley Improved, 243 Win and 280 Rem, and have not gotten too far into the process.

Thanks in advance for your replies.
Old 01-23-2011, 10:45 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Alliant RL powders compared to Hodgdon Exteme

I have reloaded rifle ammo for about 10 years now and I have some very accurate loads with the Alliant powders mainly in RL22 and RL25. The bad thing is they are so temp sensitive I do not use them anymore. With my 280AI and my Weatherby calibers I switched to Hodgdon H4831sc for that reason........................ I would develop a great load in the summer with Alliant, when late fall came around and the temps changed so would my point of impact! Sometimes as much as 3 inches! I kept trying to make it work and after talking to other shooters with the same problem I just abandoned the Alliant powder. It's velocities are excellent also but if I can't put the bullets where I want to I don't want to use it................... I am also new to shotshell reloading and am afraid to use Alliant for shotshell reloading because of my experience with rifle loads.