Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

advanced reloading techniques

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2013, 09:15 AM
Silver Member

advanced reloading techniques

I'm going on my first elk rifle hunt in October to New Mexico. I'm new to reloading and want to get proficient as quickly as possible. I'm having a new match grade barrel put on my Winchester model 70 300 win mag by Elk Meadow Performance. He mentioned getting a primer pocket uniformer and a flash hole deburrer as a MUST. Where can I get information on advanced reloading techniques that will allow me to reload the most accurate reloads possible??? What additional equipment do I need beyond the basic reloading kit which I already have???

I'm 62 years old, so I don't have 20 years to experiment with reloading to get accurate rounds. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-19-2013, 09:51 AM
Platinum Member

Re: advanced reloading techniques

There are a lot of ways to skin a cat and that is particularly true of reloading. You can learn a lot right here by reading through various threads and doing some searches. Some weigh and sort brass and some don't. Some weigh and sort bullets and some don't. Some measure bullet bearing surface and sort and some don't. Some FL size and some neck size. Some turn necks and some don't. Some anneal and some don't.

Uniforming pockets and deburring flash holes is probably a good idea. I do it. I usually don't trim to length until after the first firing to avoid taking off excessive neck. I like them as long as possible. I do weigh my brass (after trimming) to put them in different lots. I.e., the 50 heaviest in one lot and the 50 lightest in another. I do the same with bullets.