Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

Accurate Arms MR 3100?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:10 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 96
Accurate Arms MR 3100?

I have a lb of powder in my reloading cabinet from Accurate Arms labeled MR 3100. I had bought it about 25 years ago (I think). So recently I loaded 50 rds of .243 Win with Nosler 95gr Partition bullets working up to 44gr of that MR 3100 powder. I got that load using a load for Accurate Arms AA-3100. At that top charge, 3 shots were going into 1/2 inch. No signs of excessive pressure. I don't have a chronograph, so I don't know about the velocity, but I am pretty impressed with the accuracy.

So my questions are: Is this really the same as AA-3100? None of my local reloading suppliers are carrying the AA-3100 at this time. Would it be worth it to have them order a few lbs? Or is something else pretty close? Maybe RL-19?

-- gr8whyt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2011, 10:48 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,019
Re: Accurate Arms MR 3100?

I am pretty sure that mr3100 is the same as Accurate 3100. It is a good 243 powder . I use to use it when I had a 243 with 100 gr bullets but I used just a bit more than you are using and it was a tack driver and the velocity was top notch. If you get some accurate 3100 like any time you get a new lot number of the same powder you should back off a little and work back up to be safe.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2011, 08:29 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: York, Pa.
Posts: 588
Re: Accurate Arms MR 3100?

I use AA-3100 in my .243 with 95 BT for Tx whitetails. It is just an awesome load. I gave the load to a friend who bought a T-3 in .243 and it gave him the same results. Speed is over 3100fps and accuracy is very sub MOA..

He recently tried to obtain some AA-3100 locally and at Cabela's and there seems to be an issue aquiring that particular powder right now. I forget just what the issue as he ran it down. I have 2#'s so I'm good for alot of hunts. Just need to watch out for pressure (stiff bolt) at MAX load over 75 deg. and point of impact shift obviously too.

Shooting those 95 grainers you can also get fantastic accuracy with VV-560. I gave him some of that (listed in Nosler manual as most accurate powder)and he was shooting 1/2" groups at 200 with that powder, it's not as fast (just under 3000) as the AA-3100 but a wee bit more accurate.
__________________
Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2011, 11:21 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: greenwood, IN
Posts: 3,555
Re: Accurate Arms MR 3100?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freebore View Post
I use AA-3100 in my .243 with 95 BT for Tx whitetails. It is just an awesome load. I gave the load to a friend who bought a T-3 in .243 and it gave him the same results. Speed is over 3100fps and accuracy is very sub MOA..

He recently tried to obtain some AA-3100 locally and at Cabela's and there seems to be an issue aquiring that particular powder right now. I forget just what the issue as he ran it down. I have 2#'s so I'm good for alot of hunts. Just need to watch out for pressure (stiff bolt) at MAX load over 75 deg. and point of impact shift obviously too.

Shooting those 95 grainers you can also get fantastic accuracy with VV-560. I gave him some of that (listed in Nosler manual as most accurate powder)and he was shooting 1/2" groups at 200 with that powder, it's not as fast (just under 3000) as the AA-3100 but a wee bit more accurate.
I shoot 3100, but don't own a .243. I have shot it in my 6mm's. I think your running almost two grains over max loading, so be carefull. In hot weather you may not like the results. You should try H1000 and H450, or AA4350 (it burns slightly faster than H4350)
gary
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2011, 02:55 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 96
Re: Accurate Arms MR 3100?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trickymissfit View Post
I shoot 3100, but don't own a .243. I have shot it in my 6mm's. I think your running almost two grains over max loading, so be carefull. In hot weather you may not like the results. You should try H1000 and H450, or AA4350 (it burns slightly faster than H4350)
gary
My 44gr load is right at max according to the load chart I found on Accurate's web site. Also the Nosler number 4 guide I use. The Nosler guide is showing 3100fps with that load from a 24 inch barrel. My little 700 Rem Mountain Rifle DM only has a 22 in tube, so I'm probably giving up some there.

You're right about being cautious with hot temps or a new lot of the powder.

If I can find some AA-3100, I'll back it down about 3 grains and work it up again.

-- gr8whyt
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2011, 03:26 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: greenwood, IN
Posts: 3,555
Re: Accurate Arms MR 3100?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8whyt View Post
My 44gr load is right at max according to the load chart I found on Accurate's web site. Also the Nosler number 4 guide I use. The Nosler guide is showing 3100fps with that load from a 24 inch barrel. My little 700 Rem Mountain Rifle DM only has a 22 in tube, so I'm probably giving up some there.

You're right about being cautious with hot temps or a new lot of the powder.

If I can find some AA-3100, I'll back it down about 3 grains and work it up again.

-- gr8whyt
I shot 51 grains of the stuff thru a 6mm with an 87 grain Hornaday bullet, and it probably would have taken 52.5 max. The same powder in the red manual (.243)shows 46.0 as max with an 85 grain bullet, and 44 as max with a 95 grain bullet. I think I'd find some H414 and a mag primer. Also with the shorter barrel you may find that something like 2700 would be a better choice. I found the 3100 wants a longer barrel with big heavy bullets
gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2011, 07:52 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winterville, NC
Posts: 1,490
Re: Accurate Arms MR 3100?

Probably the same powder. I have used it as XMR-3100 and AA3100 with the same results. I loaded it for a friends .280 Rem with 120gn Ballistic Tips and it shot great. I have also tried it in my 6.5-284 Norma with 100 & 120gn BT and it shoots 1/4" groups. I like it and will continue to buy it as I find it. JohnnyK.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Accurate Arms MR 3100?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Most Accurate AR -15 Capt Academy AR15/10 Rifles 62 06-29-2014 09:13 PM
Least accurate gun Mr.Moa Long Range Hunting & Shooting 46 05-29-2011 10:54 PM
Accurate Arms Powders ??? GNERGY Reloading 8 06-27-2010 09:07 PM
I got 3100 rounds of 22LR damp. What can I do with them? cilbuper Rimfire and Airguns 3 10-01-2009 03:16 AM
How accurate would it be. HTG Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 2 09-03-2009 08:25 PM

Current Poll
Do you watch outdoor shows live or by recording them?
Always recorded - 13.18%
112 Votes
Mostly recorded - 24.12%
205 Votes
Sometimes recorded - 14.82%
126 Votes
Rarely or never recorded - 47.88%
407 Votes
Total Votes: 850
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC