Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

7mm Magnum Sizing

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2013, 01:35 PM
Bronze Member

7mm Magnum Sizing

Question, I have been reloading for seems like 100 years and have still failed to understand sizing on belted magnums. I can get away with may be 4 loadings before having to toss my brass. I've some folks using a nickel to set the sizing die, also there used to be a company that sold a die specifically for belted cartridges, and allowed you to size all the way to the belt. Would appreciate a bit of input on how you all set the die. Thanks, ElDee
Old 06-02-2013, 04:27 PM
Gold Member

Re: 7mm Magnum Sizing

I pay no attention to the belt . I resize it as though it is a regular bottle neck case . all I do is measure my fired brass and set my sizing die to bump the shoulder back about .002 . you will need a tool to measure case length . once fired brass will probably not be expanded completely , so I only neck size it the first time . after the second fire the brass should be fully expanded and you can set your die up to size the brass to your chamber .

so far I have not needed the belted case die .
Innovative Technologies - Reloading Equipment
Old 06-03-2013, 12:57 PM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbires View Post

after the second fire the brass should be fully expanded and you can set your die up to size the brass to your chamber .

Innovative Technologies - Reloading Equipment
How do you do that with a full length seating die? Are you saying that you just don't adjust it down all the way to touch the top of the case holder with the ram all the way up?? If so, doesn't that mean that you're not resizing the whole neck?
Old 06-03-2013, 02:48 PM
Silver Member