Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

6.5-284 coal question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2013, 05:54 AM
Silver Member

6.5-284 coal question

Hey everybody I just got my rifle rebarreled from 308 to 6.5-284 and got set up to load. First I just want to say this is my road huntin rig so shots should be about 500 or less and I am NOT using the rifle competitively. Now my question is I loaded some 130 gr vlds to a length of 3.10 and when I chambered the round to check it(habit I developed so I don't make it to the range and have rounds that won't chamber) I got some resistance but the bolt still closed. I measured it and it was down to 3.03 overall length. Is that normal or is there something funky goin on? I ask cause I'm relatively new to reloading and brand new to this caliber plus can always learn something. Thanks ahead for the responses.
Old 10-23-2013, 07:55 AM
Platinum Member

Re: 6.5-284 coal question

3.10 sounds like the bullet might be entering the lands and is being pushed back into the case. Based on these numbers the bullet is entering the lands .07 before the case is fulling inserted and bolt locked. I can not imagine any other reason for this occurance. My guess, let me know, is that after you chamber and cycle the bolt, the second cycle of the bolt you don't experience this bolt resistance.

I don't know what book you used to develop the load but I would double check the numbers. Bullet types, weights, etc have to all be measured properly to ensure the correct seating depth is acheived. Two bad things that happen is high chamber pressure and the possibilty the bullet gets stuck in the lands when you try to remove the unfired cartridge. Now you have stuck bullet and powder all over inside your action.
Old 10-23-2013, 08:01 AM
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrentM View Post