close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Reply

300 rum throat length

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 03-26-2009, 09:26 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
300 rum throat length

Had a custom 300 rum built. The smith built it for handloads only and said if I wanted to shoot factory loads, they would have to cut the throat longer. Why would the smith cut the throat shorter than factory specs.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 03-26-2009, 10:27 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2006
    Location: Shangri-La
    Posts: 955
    Re: 300 rum throat length

    A couple of guesses

    1. He is giving you a tight chamber which will increase pressure and thus velocity

    2. He wanted to sell you an action that had a short magazine.

    I have a custom 338 RUM that was made from a 338 win mag and I had to have a short throat in order to fit the mag and reach the lands. One thing you will have to watch for is that you will develop pressure signs at a lower powder charge than one with a longer throat. So don't load close to max until you work up from way down.
    __________________
    If you can read this, thank a teacher.......if you are reading this in English, thank a soldier.
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 03-26-2009, 10:37 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Posts: 2
    Re: 300 rum throat length

    Thanks woods. I supplied the action off of a brandnew 300 rum. I also thought he said that it won't be a velocity machine, but that the accuracy would be improved. He did mention to start on the bottom loads and work up.
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 03-27-2009, 01:30 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2004
    Location: Texas
    Posts: 7,001
    Re: 300 rum throat length

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by trapping View Post
    Had a custom 300 rum built. The smith built it for handloads only and said if I wanted to shoot factory loads, they would have to cut the throat longer. Why would the smith cut the throat shorter than factory specs.
    Thanks
    I don't know why he would do that with out talking to you first but if it is short throated
    then you should not shoot factory ammo because it may be over max in your chamber.

    The only reason I can think of is if he had the reamer and was trying to save you money
    or you told him which bullet you were going to use and a short throat was nessary to
    work in the mag.

    You will not get the velocity with the short throat but it will allow you to seat the bullets
    close to the lands.

    If you want to shoot factory ammo then have him use a throating reamer and make it
    to within factory spect.

    J E CUSTOM
    __________________
    "PRESS ON"
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: 300 rum throat length
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    7wsm throat length? emmagator Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 5 01-11-2011 09:27 PM
    7mm Rem throat length/freebore??? ovastafford Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 3 02-04-2010 10:26 PM
    300 rum throat length robbor Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 1 06-24-2007 07:30 PM
    Throat length and effect robbor Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 5 11-08-2006 08:29 AM
    300 wsm throat length rcreup Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 1 06-18-2006 10:06 AM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC