Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

300 RUM Bullet Crimping

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2012, 07:46 PM

Re: 300 RUM Bullet Crimping

Another question is in powder selection. This gun will be used for big game hunting in the Rockies. My load development will be done in 90-95 degree weather. My hunting will be done in much cooler temps, estimated 20-30 degrees. Which of the magnum powders are the most temperature stable? Not just magnum powders, as I'll be loading for 7mm-08 as well. What will my best options be in powder selection based on temp differentials?

I'm a beginner to reloading so all advice, and recommendations will be seriously considered, and appreciated
Old 06-19-2012, 10:19 PM
Platinum Member

cserwin,

The Wilson trimmer is a very good one. I have it with the micrometer adjustment added on from Sinclair Int. they have te individual shell holders for unfired and fired cases for most calibers so you can just buy both shell holders for the 300 RUM and be good. I would also invest in a OAL gauge so that you can find out how far out you can seat a bullet before it touches the lands on your rifle.

The powder that you use is also fining to depend on what weight bullet you are going to use. When I was loading for the 300 RUM, I was getting good results with Retumbo and H1000 which both are temp stable powders. I was using a 210 gr Berger. I do believe that Barnes has a 200 gr bullet that work well for you.
Old 06-20-2012, 08:17 PM

Thanks for the input. The fascination with long range ballistics has bitten me, and I'll probably go broke searching for that ultimate LR load, and rifle. I must be watching too much TV (Long Range Pursuit), (Extreme Outer Limits), etc. For now its a hobby, but I also do a lot of hunting, and will continue to use the RUM for hunting.