Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

3 reloads on 7mmRM

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2011, 11:08 AM
Gold Member

3 reloads on 7mmRM

Just curious what everyone's opinion is. I have been made really paranoid by some people on this forum that are totally against belted magnums. I am new at hand loading and just wanted some experienced eyes to see my brass and give me their .02. I have loaded these 3 times. Getting a little more stiff to close the bolt when I slide these pieces of brass into the chamber. I just don't want to get into some problem with case head separation. I have looked at this brass for a while, and one minute I think it looks fine and then my paranoia kicks in and I wonder if I know what I'm looking for.

Old 05-15-2011, 11:26 AM
Bronze Member

Re: 3 reloads on 7mmRM

This has happened to me when I started loading at the top end of my 7 Rem Mag. The problem is that full length resizing dies do not form the area right below the belt. Over time this swells from pressure and then it becomes hard to chamber and unload your firearm. The solution I found is to use Innovative Technologies magnum case resizing collet. It uses a seperate die and collet placed over the cartridge to size the entire case up to the belt. It worked wonders and even made it possible to get more reloadings out of each piece of brass without case seperation. Good Luck!
Old 05-15-2011, 12:55 PM
Gold Member