close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Reply

280 AI primer ?: Magnum or not???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 05-21-2007, 11:27 AM
SPONSOR
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 1,922
280 AI primer ?: Magnum or not???

Just wanted to see what some of you guys were using. Thought about using the mag primer but I loaded some to test w/the CCI BR-2 primers.
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 05-21-2007, 12:32 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2002
    Posts: 2,855
    Re: 280 AI primer ?: Magnum or not???

    I've had good luck with the BR-2's for years but found them to be a little harder than the Federal 210M that i use now.

    I have seen in a bit smaller rounds like the 308 where the magnum primer killed the accuracy with to much power and in some cases I've heard that it will cause pressure issues from jumping the bullet out to the lands before the powder goes off.
    __________________
    Si Vis Pacem Parabellum
    Molon Labe
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 05-21-2007, 12:49 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Apr 2006
    Location: Alberta
    Posts: 868
    Re: 280 AI primer ?: Magnum or not???

    Hi Bill,

    I'm just getting starting reloading for my 280AI. I'm using Federal GM215M primers based on advice I got from JD338. He told me that when he changed to the match mag primers his groups tightened up.

    Also if you've seen the groups he's gotten with his 280AI, you'd give these primers a try also [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

    Good luck!
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 05-21-2007, 01:42 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2002
    Posts: 439
    Re: 280 AI primer ?: Magnum or not???

    Mine is not Ackleyrised but I have good result with Winchester large primer and the Federal 210 Match. As a matter of fact, I can use either one with no discernible difference in performance.
    __________________
    To achieve the maximum possible accuracy, all variables must be remove or at least minimize.
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 05-21-2007, 02:31 PM
    Official LRH Sponsor
     
    Join Date: Jun 2004
    Location: Fort Shaw, Montana
    Posts: 6,847
    Re: 280 AI primer ?: Magnum or not???

    No need for a magnum primer at all. Even in cold weather with Ball powders I have never had one of my customers complain about inconsistant ignition with a standard cap.

    CCI-BR2s are good primers.

    Let us know how that thing shoots,

    By the way, any pics of a certain axis buck yet????

    Kirby Allen(50)
    __________________
    Kirby Allen(50)

    Allen Precision Shooting
    Home of the Allen Magnum, Allen Xpress and Allen Tactical Wildcats and the Painkiller Muzzle brakes.

    Farther, Faster and Flatter then ever before.

    Web Page: www.apsrifles.com

    allenmagnum@gmail.com
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 05-21-2007, 02:59 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2005
    Location: Western MI
    Posts: 718
    Re: 280 AI primer ?: Magnum or not???

    When I first started my 280AI load development, I was using the Federal GM210M primers. Accuracy was sub MOA. My gunsmith told me to switch to the Federal GM215M primers and the groups went well under .5 MOA. I don't feel that a magnum primer is required to ignite the powder charge, but the level of accuracy I am getting is extreamly good and justifies the use of the magnum primer.
    Bill, I would recomend you at least try some Federal GM215M primers with RL22.

    JD338
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 05-21-2007, 04:14 PM
    oso oso is offline
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2005
    Location: New Mexico
    Posts: 307
    Re: 280 AI primer ?: Magnum or not???

    This is fairly interesting as I am having a 280AI barrel being built as we speak. It is also interesting that someone could get better groups by just using a mag primer? I guess if that is the case I too would use the mag primers!

    [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: 280 AI primer ?: Magnum or not???
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    .223 - Magnum or non Magnum primer clhman Reloading 1 07-23-2009 05:07 AM
    300wm primer selection, magnum or standard??????? 30-06 boy Reloading 2 09-12-2007 05:18 PM
    RCBS Bench mounted Primer (Strips) and Primer Strip Loader. Roll-Yur-Own Guns For Sale 3 03-13-2007 04:35 PM
    standard or magnum primer? Warren Barrett Equipment Discussions 3 10-15-2003 07:24 PM
    Magnum Large Rifle Primer Question bgordon Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 4 03-24-2002 11:09 AM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC