Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out


Reply

Why zero at 100 yards?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2001, 02:38 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 2,369
Why zero at 100 yards?

Althought not completely universal the 100 yard zero is very common. From a 100 yard zero setting we can all talk about the number of Minutes of Angle (MOA) we need to get to a certain distance and hold for Point Of Aim (POA) to Point Of Impact (POI).

As an example: I use a 308 Winchester a lot so when someone asks me for my 500 yard data for a particular load I simply reply "11.5 Minutes Up" which they immediately (in most cases) understand to mean that I adjust my scope up by 11.5 MOA over my 100 yard zero.

Many of the long range shooters have a little chart taped to their rifle somewhere. This little chart shows distances and elevation numbers. (My chart is inside the rear scope cap) I can loan my rifle (AND ammo) to another shooter and after he verifies that his 100 yard zero while shooting my rifle is correct for him he has all the additional data he needs to shoot the rifle to any distance (1000 yards or so).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2009, 04:16 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 449
Re: Why zero at 100 yards?

I am going to build a LR rifle. I was planning to zero it in a 200yrds. Actually I was planning to site it in at 100yrds. but depending on the data have it be an inch or two high. Is this inappropriate?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2009, 05:59 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 3,833
Re: Why zero at 100 yards?

Geez, that's resurrecting an old post/thread. 8 years back, you must be doing a lot of reading.

This subject comes up periodically and you will find that we have people that zero their guns from 100 out to 500-600 yards and all have reasons for doing so that fit their hunting/shooting style and that works for them.

My logic is that for the long shots I'm going to be twisting the turrets so I want my gun zeroed at a range that allows me to take a quick shot without worrying about dialing and know that out to a certain distance that I'll make a killing shot.

Most of my long range guns dictate that if I am zeroed at 300 yards, then anywhere from the muzzle out to about 400 yards I can quickly take a shot on a big game animal. This doesn't mean this is the way everyone should do it, it just means that I'm comfortable with this and it has been that way so long that it's all automatic in my thought process when a shot presents itself.

Depending on what you are shooting you can zero at just about any range if you know the results of doing so and that you haven't zeroed at a range that will cause you a problem if presented with a quicker than normal shot.

I guess what I'm saying is, do what works for you. If you don't have a ballistics program, there are free ones available and you can see what your zeroed range and your gun will do at all different ranges. This should all be predicated on having already accumulated proven field data for your decision.

Good luck with your new build.
__________________
ss7mm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2009, 06:13 PM
CAM CAM is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Utah
Posts: 390
Re: Why zero at 100 yards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ss7mm View Post
Geez, that's resurrecting an old post/thread. 8 years back, you must be doing a lot of reading.
ss7mm that was sure a nice way to put that!

As ss7mm said to each his own, but 100 yards or "meters" if you like is the best baseline for most people. not much changes at 100 yards.

Even if I "say" I'm sighted in at 600, I use my 100 yard info and then imput the data to crank up to 600, because the 600 data has enviroment effects on zero that the 100 yard zero has little effect.

Some times I like my 10 MOA pin to be dead on at 1K, but I still use the 100 yard zero to base the info to get my pin on at 1K for that day, altitude, temp, etc.

Cam
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:45 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Potomac River
Posts: 5,057
Re: Why zero at 100 yards?

I am simple minded and my memory is so bad that I have to carry a drivers license just to find out what my name is. So all my rifles are zeroed at 100 yards. That way I don't get confused over that issue when I switch from rifle to rifle. All I have to do is bring the ammo that fits it.

As was mentioned, if I want a 300 yard zero then I just dial in 3MOA.
__________________
The Smokin Fur Rifle Club
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2009, 11:29 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 324
Re: Why zero at 100 yards?

On opening day of 2007 deer season I was hunting with my new fangled Tikka T3 Lite in 270 Win, with a Luepold VX1 2-7x32 LR Duplex mounted on it for a nice Light weight mountian rifle.
I "normally" use a 300yd zero, however with this new set-up I decided to take advantage of the ranging dots in the scope. (Big Mistake) Therefore I changed from my "normal system" to some "new & better".
5 mintues into legal shooting light, I spotted a nice 4x4 mulie at 550yds. Using my new ranging dots I promptly put 5 rds into the side of the mountian as the buck calmly walked away - going up the side of the mountian.
Later, and after a lot of vertical boot leather excerise, I tracked the buck down and was able to take him with a simple 125 yd shot.
The lesson I learned that day is that when under pressure you will have a very strong tendency to revert to your "normal" system. My recomendation to you is that you pick a system and stick with it.
Bottom line, it is not easy for an old dog to learn new tricks.
__________________
Don

Snohomish Co. Washington
NRA Life Member
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2009, 08:26 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 322
Re: Why zero at 100 yards?

I use to use a 200 yd. zero,but now I use a 100 yd. zero.The reason is because I am lazy!I like to check my zero's pretty often,mainly just for piece of mind,although they are rarely off.I find it much easier to put a target out to 100 yds.,test it,and go pick it back up and put it away from 100yds. than it is from 200+ yds.So for me,it's just a convenience thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Why zero at 100 yards?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Church Steel Shoot (200 yards-1125 yards) Ernie Long Range Hunting & Shooting 1 08-21-2011 10:25 AM
300 RUM enough gun for elk @ 600 yards? 300WinMagNewb Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 22 01-16-2011 03:53 PM
1918 yards shoting Yes i said 1918 yards tjonh2001 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 25 04-02-2010 04:56 PM
7mm-08 400-700 yards bm1956 Long Range Hunting & Shooting 21 01-07-2010 09:27 AM

Current Poll
I currently have hunting preference points in the following states

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC