Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

why not the 257 wthby

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2011, 01:43 AM
Silver Member

Re: why not the 257 wthby

no high bc bullets available

I think we would see a lot more 25-06, 257 wthby, & 257 stw if there was some good bullets made for them.

Old 09-30-2011, 05:43 AM
Silver Member

As I mentioned I am somewhat new to this world, but I assumed that most of the "favorites" for the other calibers: 6.5x284, 260, 280, 308, etc.... were also available for the .257. Am I not correct in this? If not what would be looking for as far as a long range bullet for this caliber?
Old 09-30-2011, 09:11 AM
Platinum Member

Performed a bit of a terminal performance test a couple of years back.

Final result was surprising.

On the large side was the 338 RUM for kicks and giggles the small side happened to be a 25-06.

Berger's 257 offering in 115 gr penetrated the body only about 2" less than the 338 in shoulder hits in the test media. Impressive to say the least.

BTW the test media was a real find.

We then decided to try the little Bergers in bone. Much Much more impressed were we.

Those Amazing Bergers
Old 09-30-2011, 09:57 PM
Silver Member

So if I understand correctly the bullets are available and the performance is there. Sounds like a darn good cal. over all. Hope to hear more input from all.
Old 10-01-2011, 02:57 PM
Platinum Member