Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Timney Trigger Issues

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2012, 01:59 PM
Silver Member

Timney Trigger Issues

I am relatively new to Long range hunting. I have been slowly working on my first rifle over the last year. Its a Win Mod70 7mm rem mag. I had a local gunsmith install a timney trigger. Since then I have had several problems. First and foremost is after about three shots the rear pin in the trigger assembly backs out. This causes the spring that controls the bolt release pin to back out. So to my suprise after the third shot my bolt came completely out when I ejected the case. I tapped the pin back in place and reset the spring. But this has happened 3 times now. I called the gunsmith about the problem and he told me "Well thats the way it is". Needless to say I will be finding a new gun smith. The second problem is that since he installed that trigger my safety is now very stiff. To the point where I cannot get it to the middle position. I am a little frustrated. The rifle is shooting great but I just can't trust it at this point. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Old 12-25-2012, 07:43 PM
Silver Member

Re: Timney Trigger Issues

OK maybe I should put it this way. Has anyone every had this problem with Timney triggers before? Should I go to a different trigger or is this an easy fix? It looks like it should be an easy fix but I am not sure how to go about it.
Old 12-25-2012, 08:09 PM
Platinum Member