Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out


Reply

Switch Barrel Set up ????? for a gunsmith.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2004, 06:11 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 168
Switch Barrel Set up ????? for a gunsmith.

Hi and thanks for replying,

I have a Remington 700 Action (long, magnum), that was set up by a gunsmith friend of my dads. It has a pinned recoil lug and is set up as a switch barrel rifle. It is currently a single shot .300 RUM.

My question: Can I have a barrel threaded and chambered by say PAC NOR, and a set of Dies made for it? I want to use an empty case to head space it? I want a 6.5 WSM barrel chambered for it, and would rather not send the rifle out to a smith. Is this possible?

I would also consider buying the barrel from a gunsmith and having do the work and then send me the barrel when he is done.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2004, 09:09 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Central PA
Posts: 1,310
Re: Switch Barrel Set up ????? for a gunsmith.

unless they have measurements from previous work on your gun they wont be able to pre-fit you a barrel. they will need the action--unless the previous smith has the dims on file and can send them to pac-nor--even then it is up to their discretion--they probably wouldnt want the liability.

JB
__________________
Check it Out!!--> Shoot the Smack The Smiley Match...and help AmericanSnipers.org
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2004, 10:52 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 168
Re: Switch Barrel Set up ????? for a gunsmith.

Thanks jb1000br

I thought setting the Remington as a switch barrel would have been like a Savage. Buy a threaded pre-chambered barrel, set headspace and shoot it.

I have a lot to learn, thanks again!
Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2004, 11:57 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Palmer, Alaska
Posts: 2,539
Re: Switch Barrel Set up ????? for a gunsmith.

I would send them the action so they can fit the barrel thread pitch and diameter to match your trued receiver, "exactly".

I would not go to the expense and accept a loose barrel thread, which would more than likely be the result. POI shift will be almost certain.

I'll be using ramp thread and also lapping them in in the future.
__________________
Brent Moffitt
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2004, 02:08 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: mi
Posts: 991
Re: Switch Barrel Set up ????? for a gunsmith.

I have all my actions done by one smith and he has all the measurements. Just call hem and tell hem what gun I want a barrel for and he orders it and chambers it wall I shoot the gun. But he has to have the action for the first barrel to take measurements.
Crow Mag
__________________
If you think something is not possible move out of the way so the ones that are doing it can
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2004, 02:40 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 168
Re: Switch Barrel Set up ????? for a gunsmith.

Thanks crow mag..............Who do you use?

Andrew
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Switch Barrel Set up ????? for a gunsmith.
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
switch barrel gun does anybody use one ? kidcoltoutlaw Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 14 05-31-2013 06:32 PM
.300/.338 RUM Switch Barrel Joel Russo Guns For Sale 3 08-27-2011 07:43 PM
Switch barrel? Guy M Gunsmithing 6 09-19-2007 12:38 PM
300 Wby Switch Barrel Rifle Greg in PA Guns For Sale 0 10-27-2004 06:58 AM
How about a switch barrel ...? dwm Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 11 03-30-2004 07:24 AM

Current Poll
I currently have hunting preference points in the following states

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC