Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

SUGGESTIONS for 300 RUM????

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 04:21 PM

SUGGESTIONS for 300 RUM????

I want to get a 300 Remington ultra mag for long range.. I have been told to get a Sendero but have heard diffrent opinions on the SFII or SF?
not sure the diffrence or what would be better. Mabey i should go about this a diffrent way???? for the price reasons,I found a sendero for 1100, but can I get a better set up for a little more money. I want a remington, I like the sendero but the big question is can i build a nicer gun for a little more money.

Thanks for your opinions..

Im kind of new at this all my life i have just bought a rifle and amo off the shelf and done quite well... just started to gain intrest in the technology and upgrades of this sport...
Old 03-24-2013, 07:40 PM
Silver Member

Re: SUGGESTIONS for 300 RUM????

That is a tough question; what exactly do you want to do? I wouldn't recommend a 300rum for a first long range rifle. If you aren't used to recoil you may need to add a brake to keep from developing a flinch. A 308 is great and a 300wm will do everything you could want, within reason. A Remington Sendero, or similar rifle would be fine, especially if you are going to reload (reloading is the key to long range in my opinion). If a 1/2 moa rifle (or close to it) is your goal, just buy either. If you want a 1/4 moa rifle you are going to pay a lot for the little bit extra. You would have to see what a gunsmith would charge to put together a rig for you, but $2,500.00 seems to be about the cheapest I could do a build they way I want it. I would buy a decent rifle and get good optics for it; if the scope doesn't perform you won't be accurate.
Old 03-24-2013, 08:49 PM