Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Spend on a Ruger M77MKII or start over

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2006, 07:45 PM

Spend on a Ruger M77MKII or start over

I'm just getting into coyote, long range hunting. My objective is to have 1 rifle good for elk, deer, and coyote out to 600 yards or so.

Im thinking along the lines of a 8 - 10 lb rifle w/optics that shoots a 30 cal. (300 wsm, wm) bullet at 1 MOA or less.

I curently own a Ruger M77 MKII bone stock purchased in 95 or so with probably 200 rounds through it. Overall good condition. Bare minimum it will need a stock(I hate the stock and recoil pad). No I dont know how it shoots as far as minimum posible group size. I can shoot 1.5 groups without much effort at 100 yrds but never realy tried for better. Remember I'm new to this long range stuff. My forte is muzzle stuffers.

My question is: What are your opinions on working with this rifle or just starting over?

My budget is 1k or preferably less.

I was thinking of the Weatherby Vanguard SUB MOA as a starting over point. What are your thoughts on this rifle.

Thanks,

Rick
Old 04-10-2006, 08:09 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Spend on a Ruger M77MKII or start over

What caliber is the Ruger you currently own? If that's a .300 WM or the likes, there's a good chance it would do what you wanted with perhaps some trigger work and a "new stock" to meet your preference. If you handload, it's likely you will find a load that will give you acceptable accuracy as is for out to 600 yards with plenty of umpfh for elk. If you shoot factory ammo, "get serious" and many different brands for accuracy. 100 yards groups are pretty, but 2,3,400 yard groups are a LOT more informative.
Old 04-10-2006, 10:21 PM

Oops! Forgot some important info. The rifle is chambered for 300 win Mag.