Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Small Caliber Long Range Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2013, 09:48 PM
Bronze Member

Small Caliber Long Range Questions

I'm new to this whole long range bit, and I'm still trying to wrap my mind around shooting past max point blank range. I'm very interested in extending the range limit of my coyote hunting. I am building a .223 on a Stevens action, with a SSS comp trigger and Boyd's prairie hunter stock. My next move is to upgrade the scope I have been hunting with for a few years on other rifles. I currently have a Swift Premier 4-12x40 AO. OK now for the questions.

1. What is the effective range of the .223 with hunting bullets (I'm shooting 55 gn Berger FB)

2. On a rifle of this caliber is a guy better off with a BDC reticle or target/tactical turrets?

3. I'm looking at the Ziess Conquest for this rig. Is this gonna do what I'm wanting to do? The target turret model is what I'm thinking.
Zeiss - Camera Land NY

4.I'm planning on changing out the barrel sometime this summer for a Shilen. I'm thinking 24" .223AI.. How much will this add to the range of this rifle?

Sorry for all the new guy questions, I figured this was the place to ask though.

EDIT: SCRATCH THE BARNES 36GN IDEA

Last edited by ShowMeShooter; 03-14-2013 at 10:45 PM. Reason: to scratch the 36gn Barnes idea
Old 03-14-2013, 10:28 PM
Gold Member

Re: Small Caliber Long Range Questions

Welcome...........If you are moving toward a long range load: Going from 55gr to 36gr is exactly opposite of what you should be doing. The heavier bullets will retain speed better, fight wind better and be way better for long range work. think 77 gr smk
Old 03-14-2013, 10:43 PM
Bronze Member