Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 09-20-2008, 08:01 AM
Bronze Member
Re: scopes? turrets?

Originally Posted by jasonstewart View Post
the aftermarket turrets? where all are they available from? im new to this.
Leupold will put M1 turrets on for a reasonable price. I would do that.

Unread 09-20-2008, 08:18 AM
Silver Member
Re: scopes?

i would like to receive as many opinions as possible to this. i have recently started shooting long range. i have a 300 win mag winchester model 70 laredo lrh. i have a leupold vari-x iii 3.5x10x50ao on it now. it has a heavy duplex reticle. i also have a vari-xiii 6.5x20x40ao with a fine duplex reticle sitting in the closet on a 30-06. my question is whether i should use one of these scopes or purchase a super sniper, bushnell elite tactical, burris tactical, etc...
Send one of those to the leupold custom shop and have them change the reticle and add some turrets. Either a traditional Mil-Dot setup or the TMR would be and outstanding reticle choice.

i dont really see that much difference between them when set the same as far as light transmission and paralax are concerned. any information would be great. i can afford about $800 for a new scope if this is necessary. thanks, jason stewart
Objective size is highly over-rated! I have scopes with both 40 and 50 mm objectives and it is all about glass quality not size. If you want good light transmission you will need to pay for the glass. I'm not saying that leupold doesn't have decent glass but I am saying that their are others out there that are much better. It sort of falls like this:

Burris XTS
Bushnell elite/3200/etc....
Super Sniper
Falcon Menace

Nikon Monarchs
Leupold (VXIII and up)

Sightron (SIII's and Big skys)
Schmidt & Bender