Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out


Reply

Running in a scope?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2011, 08:13 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 38
Running in a scope?

I just read an interesting magazine article here in NZ, suggesting that new scopes need īrunning inī similar to breaking in a barrel. The theory is that new scopes may have minor burrs on threads or small buildups of grease etc when fresh from the factory. The author suggested these mimor factors can cause a scope not to adjust precisely without either running past and then back to the desired dial or lightly tapping the scope after adjustments are made to settle reticle fully.

He suggested the best method was to take a new scope and run through the full range of adjustment approx. 30 times prior to mounting. This included the windage/elevation dials, parallax and zoom rings.

Can anyone else verify similar findings or heard anything similar? I am hoping to get a new scope soon and figure running the adjustments back and forth a few times canīt hurt?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2011, 09:19 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,227
Re: Running in a scope?

I've never heard this, but I'd like to follow along,and see if someone else has.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2011, 09:25 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arkansas (Home of Record)
Posts: 1,209
Re: Running in a scope?

I have to admit that I do this...but, not intentionally. By the time I get finished "playing with it" then checking the adjustments about a dozen times it should be broken in pretty well.
__________________
Courage is just fear that has said it's prayers.

The people trying to say the 2nd Amendment is outdated are probably the same folks that would say the same thing about the Bible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2011, 07:16 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Northeast
Posts: 2,223
Re: Running in a scope?

Yes, it's a good idea. New scopes with turrets get run in for windage and elevation. I usually do it 10-20 times. Also, when mounting the scope on the rifle I use a collimator with 4 MOA calibrations to do a cursory check on Reticle movement. A couple of years ago discovered a new Leupold 6x20 target turret that lost movement in the higher elevation range and sent the scope back for repair before finding out at the range. Also had a MK 4 that lost clicks in the mid elevation range. A buddy turned me on to this some years ago claiming that the lubricant needed to be evenly distributed.
__________________

"Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready"-T. Roosevelt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Running in a scope?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone running the 325 WSM & 200 SMK for LRH? efw Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 4 01-14-2012 02:08 PM
Running on circles - 7 mm Rem Mag Reloading M Jager Reloading 8 10-29-2011 10:53 PM
Anyone here running a Bighorn action? KQguy Long Range Hunting & Shooting 1 11-02-2010 02:20 PM
6.5X284 Up and Running johnnyk Long Range Hunting & Shooting 6 04-29-2010 08:31 PM
Sow running off one of her cubs Boyd Heaton General Discussion 0 08-07-2007 04:15 PM

Current Poll
Do You Shoot Rifle Competition?
YES - 33.69%
760 Votes
NO - 66.31%
1,496 Vote
Total Votes: 2,256
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC