Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out


Reply

reset zero range after firing?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2001, 11:49 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
reset zero range after firing?

Hello,

I wonder if some of you reset zero at 100 yards after firing at 600 yards? Let's give you an example. You see two varmints at 650 yards and 325 yards. You dial to actual MOA for 325 yards then fire. You may forget the MOA number from 325 yards to 650 yards. Do you dial back to zero and start again for 650 yards? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2001, 12:54 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,757
Re: reset zero range after firing?

Hello

You can go back to zero but if you tape your click chart to the side of your stock you will know what to subtract.
The click chart should start at a 100 yd zero and it can be made to go every 50 or 100 yards out to the maximum you want to shoot.
later
DC
__________________
Darryl Cassel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2001, 05:39 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 2,369
Re: reset zero range after firing?

I generally don't go back to the 100 yard zero unless I'm done shooting for the day.

For walking around I usually set the scope at 1 MOA high for varmint type hunting and 2 MOA high for deer, when time permits or the distance is long I set the scope for the measured distance and fire.

For a shoot at only long range, I adjust the scope to the desired setting/distance one after another without ever returning to the 100 zero.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2001, 09:13 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Silver City, NM
Posts: 17
Re: reset zero range after firing?

I sight all my rifles in at 2.5 in high at 100yds since I only hunt big game. I know what my point blank range is for the particular rifle and what drop I have at what yardage past that point. Everyone does what works for them, but I never readjust my scope in the field.
__________________
[i]Be sure and check out my Web Site, New host, New Pages!</I]
John's Hunting Pages
Visitors' Trophy Room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2001, 10:21 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,757
Re: reset zero range after firing?

Hello

For the Long-range and extreme-long-range you must go back to your 100 yard zero because of all the varible yardages you may be shooting.
There may be a shot at 1000 yards then the next may be at 1500 and then back to 600 again depending on where the game shows up.

If your not used to firing at varible ranges, It is VERY easy to forget how many clicks were actually put on. Therefore it is best to go back to the 100 yard zero after the firing is done at one range so you are ready for the next.

Darryl Cassel
__________________
Darryl Cassel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: reset zero range after firing?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Give Away Contest - Gunwerks New Auto Reset Target Andy Backus Give Away Contests 1258 08-23-2011 02:00 PM
Rem 700 firing pin Wile E Coyote Gunsmithing 3 04-03-2011 09:31 AM
WTB - Rem 700 SA firing pin omega1 Trade, Freebie and Loan 4 12-28-2008 11:42 PM
Dry Firing Bear Long Range Hunting & Shooting 3 12-28-2001 09:00 PM

Current Poll
I currently have hunting preference points in the following states

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC