Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Remington 770

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2008, 12:07 PM

Remington 770

Well I guess I'm just getting into long range hunting, just over the weekend. I've just acquired the 3 disc DVD "How to Shoot Beyond Belief." I'm 2 or 3 hours into it, is the other 8 worth the watch?

So down to business: I own, right now, a Remington 770 in the 30-06. There isn't any modifications done. It's hard to ask the right questions, I haven't yet educated myself which questions to ask. I have read some articles on the main page and I've read some terms like "free floating barrel," "MOA," "POI," and "bedding the rifle" and I'm unsure what they're referring to (apart from the free floated barrel, I've read up on that). I've looked around here and Google and I guess my main question is: Where can I find these definitions? and Is my current rifle a good starting rifle?

Sorry for being so bland, any help or information is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Old 04-14-2008, 02:36 PM
Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshall View Post
Well I guess I'm just getting into long range hunting, just over the weekend. I've just acquired the 3 disc DVD "How to Shoot Beyond Belief." I'm 2 or 3 hours into it, is the other 8 worth the watch?

So down to business: I own, right now, a Remington 770 in the 30-06. There isn't any modifications done. It's hard to ask the right questions, I haven't yet educated myself which questions to ask. I have read some articles on the main page and I've read some terms like "free floating barrel," "MOA," "POI," and "bedding the rifle" and I'm unsure what they're referring to (apart from the free floated barrel, I've read up on that). I've looked around here and Google and I guess my main question is: Where can I find these definitions? and Is my current rifle a good starting rifle?