Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Reloading equipment

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2002, 05:46 PM

Re: Reloading equipment

I came over here from accurate reloading after reading ALL the MK and LR hunting posts. I can see this is going to get expensive, getting some of the specialized equipment I see mentioned.

I've been handloading for over 30 years. I did a lot of long range target shooting 25 years back and got back in it the summer of 2000,(if you consider 600 yds long range).

As far as equipment goes, I started with lee hand dies that my brother had, to load my mil surp 8mm mauser. Got my first deer with a shell I loaded with them. After a stint in the AF I bought a used RCBS set up with a rockchucker. I used that press for 10 years before I got my Bonanza co-ax. I sold the rockchucker and a spar-t that I had after useing the co-ax for a while. The mechanical advantage of the co-ax is so much better than anything else, I doubt I'll ever change.

My newest project is a 300WSM in a Browning A-bolt synthetic stalker. So far it is showing promise for the 600 yd shoot at Ripon Wi. This is a fun shoot with almost no rules, any rest and almost any caliber. Last summer we had a guy shoot a .50 BMG there, but never again!

I look forward to participating in the discussions here. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
Old 02-04-2002, 06:16 PM
Platinum Member

J_Towns

Welcome to LRH, hope you like it.
Old 02-04-2002, 11:10 PM
PUBLISHER

J_Towns

Do people really live in a town called Oshkosh?

Long Range Hunting Rifles

Long Range Rifles, LLC - Ready To Ship

Components and assembly by LRH Sponsors
Old 02-05-2002, 03:15 AM

Naw Len it's more of an existance! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] Got a serious case of cabin fever right now, itchin to go do some long range shooting.
I've got some 168 and 190 MK's to try out in the WSM, also some a-max 168's.