Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

The real basics... new to guns how to learn

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2013, 04:32 PM
Bronze Member

The real basics... new to guns how to learn

Hello

I'm new to hunting. I started out with a bow. I'm about to start looking into guns but I'd like to learn about different kinds of guns and ammo. There is a lot to learn so I was hoping to get some direction on reading material so I can get started. I know the real basics but that's about all.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Sam
Old 11-24-2013, 06:13 PM

Re: The real basics... new to guns how to learn

It would help if you could give an idea what kind of hunting you are looking into. Small game, varmints, waterfowl, big game? This will help narrow down what kind of guns would be most beneficial for you to study up. To get you started I guess Guns and Ammo magazine or Shooting Illustrated would be good reads for you.
Old 11-24-2013, 06:28 PM
Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by obaro View Post
It would help if you could give an idea what kind of hunting you are looking into. Small game, varmints, waterfowl, big game? This will help narrow down what kind of guns would be most beneficial for you to study up. To get you started I guess Guns and Ammo magazine or Shooting Illustrated would be good reads for you.
Good point. I'm mainly hunting for deer, turkey, and waterfowl in NJ. I might venture out west to hunt big game there at some point for hogs, deer, and elk.

I know the differences between shotguns, rifles, etc but what I don't understand is twist, bullet trajectory, necking, different systems like gas vs inertia, and different kinds of triggers and weights of them. Maybe understanding how fps and mass of bullets play into my choice of gun would be helpful. I'm pretty green...
Old 11-25-2013, 10:44 AM
Silver Member