Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out


Reply

Ready to sight in and develop range card

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:47 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mouth of Hobble Crk Canyon, Utah
Posts: 592
Ready to sight in and develop range card

The load is developed, the new IOR 3-18x42mm is mounted and bore sighted, the rifle is basically set up and ready to go. I should be getting Exbal and Palm by July.

I want to now develop a 1600 yd range card. I figure to start using http://www.eskimo.com/~jbm/calculati...raj_card.html.


Their are some entries which I'm not sure of. The following is what the entries are.

-Nosler 30 cal 180 BT
-BC of .507
-Muzzle vel 3050 fps
-Chrono screen distance of 10 ft from muzzle
-sight height above bore = 1.9"
-sight offset? What's that?
-Azimuth? What's that?
-Elevation?
-Zero height? What's that?
-LOS angle? I assume Line Of Sight?
-Wind speed, I'll put in 1mph
-Target speed, what is the walking speed of deer/elk
-Zero range, I'll put in 100 yds
-Temp. I assume I put in the expected temp on the day I'm shooting
-Pressure. Where do I get that?
-Relative humidity. where do I get that info?
-Altidude. That one I know how to get!
-Vital zone radius. I assume if 10" is the vital zone of an animal, that is the entry; 10.
-Drop units. Does it matter if inches or MOA?
-A few of the next 6 checked boxes I think I understand, like Range in Meters would be meters instead of yards/ and / Zero at Max PBR /The first 4 i'm not so sure of. I can guess but would prefer help on.

Thanks for any assistance you can offer.

Big Al
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2007, 09:06 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 8,064
Re: Ready to sight in and develop range card

I'm on the same trail as you are but a bit behind per Exbal. It's taking me about 2 shots to figure out the environmental conditions at distance.

Go here for your meteorological stuff. If I knew where in the heck Hobble Canyon is I'd provide a direct link. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]

Utah Weather Reports
__________________
I may be the slowest guy on the mountain . . . . but . . . . I'm on the mountain!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2007, 02:09 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mouth of Hobble Crk Canyon, Utah
Posts: 592
Re: Ready to sight in and develop range card

Roy,

Thanks for the link. I wonder if the pressue for a certain town is adjusted/corrected. Not sure what I mean, but I know it's not the correct pressure to enter into your Exbal program. I think it needs to be based off something like that from a Kestrel Pocket Weather meter. I believe meter is supposed to be set from something like a local airport which should have the actual pressure.

I live near the mouth of Hobble Creek Canyon which lies between Springville and Mapleton, Utah.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2007, 04:59 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 920
Re: Ready to sight in and develop range card

[ QUOTE ]
Roy,

Thanks for the link. I wonder if the pressure for a certain town is adjusted/corrected. Not sure what I mean, but I know it's not the correct pressure to enter into your Exbal program. I think it needs to be based off something like that from a Kestrel Pocket Weather meter. I believe meter is supposed to be set from something like a local airport which should have the actual pressure.

I live near the mouth of Hobble Creek Canyon which lies between Springville and Mapleton, Utah.

[/ QUOTE ]

The pressures are corrected to what they would be at sea level.

To use them, enter the pressure you get from the site, and the altitude where you are (3,500 feet AMSL)...

... or enter the local "true" pressure you get from a Kestral and enter "0" for altitude - either will give you the same shooting solution.

Never enter the pressure from the weather station, AND your altitude together... you will get double the correction and shoot high at long range.

.
__________________
Here, kitty kitty kitty.

LRH member #23
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2007, 05:53 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mouth of Hobble Crk Canyon, Utah
Posts: 592
Re: Ready to sight in and develop range card

Catshooter,

Very well explained! Thank you very much. I was wondering how they worked jointly or not.

Big Al
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2007, 07:24 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 920
Re: Ready to sight in and develop range card

[ QUOTE ]
Catshooter,

Very well explained! Thank you very much. I was wondering how they worked jointly or not.

Big Al

[/ QUOTE ]

My pleasure...

What is not understood by most shooters with these programs is that the software does an "internal" correction.

All weather stations take their local pressure, then correct it to sea level. So in Denver, they will get a true pressure of 23", and then add 6" to it (1,000 feet = 1" pressure, Denver is at 6,000 feet AMSL).

So when Denver says the barometric pressure is 29", it means that outside the window, it is 23", and they have corrected it to 29".

This is done so that weather stations around the country can watch weather fronts move across the country, and they are all speaking the same language (so to speak).

Also... when a pilot lands at Denver, he sets his altimeter to 6,000, and his barometer to 29" and then his instruments are accurate and match his maps wherever he flies. (At least that was the way they did it in the days before GPS [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] )

.
__________________
Here, kitty kitty kitty.

LRH member #23
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2007, 10:08 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 718
Re: Ready to sight in and develop range card

That's not entirely true. If it were you would always have a set pressure for a given altitude. There is a correction for altitude but you must include temperature and other factors to get a corrected density altitude. I am not sure if you are saying the program is figuring that or not. It's true that if you know a fixed altitude you could adjust an altimiter to read that number and use the derived pressure number. True?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Ready to sight in and develop range card
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New JBM range card AJ Peacock Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 17 08-10-2009 05:47 PM
range card jasonshortjeeper Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 6 07-26-2009 09:12 PM
How many rounds to develop a load? Nobody Reloading 8 04-04-2009 06:28 PM
For Sale: Long Range Rifle (300 WM) ... completely ready to go. Kevin Williams Guns For Sale 3 01-01-2007 09:56 AM
Working up a range card........ Musket_0 The Basics, Starting Out 1 12-12-2004 10:33 PM

Current Poll
In the last 12 months, what was your longest rifle kill on big game?
0 to 200 yards - 25.98%
1,547 Vote
201 to 400 yards - 32.16%
1,915 Vote
401 to 600 yards - 23.01%
1,370 Vote
601 to 800 yards - 10.04%
598 Votes
801 to 1,000 yards - 3.91%
233 Votes
Over 1,000 yards - 4.89%
291 Votes
Total Votes: 5,954
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC