Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Prone position questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2011, 12:39 PM
Bronze Member

Prone position questions

Though I've been a member of this site for a couple of years, I obviously haven't done much posting. Mostly just very enjoyable reading. But now I have need of some good advice. At the range last weekend I had my first target session with my new bipod, installed on my 300 wby. I was shooting in prone position, with my left hand holding the rest under the butt of my rifle. This is what I have seen done on a few of teaching videos, I think. But on the fifth shot, my scope apparently got real mad and whacked me on the nose and above my eyebrow. So there I am, bleeding like a stuck pig, and praying my mistake went unnoticed to the others nearby. I have been shooting for nearly 30 years, and this has never happened before. Maybe I needed a little humility, which I surely got that day, but I would like to avoid doing it again.

So my question is: Where do you put your left hand? (Right-handed shooters) Do you hold the forend of the stock to keep it from moving too much during recoil? Or do you put it back with the rear support of the rifle? And if in the rear, how do you keep from getting whacked?
Old 08-10-2011, 12:52 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Prone position questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtabor View Post