Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Newbie here - howdy!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2005, 12:30 PM
Bronze Member

Newbie here - howdy!

Just getting into long range shooting/varmint hunting and would love some advice.

Considering my first true long-range gun and I think I've decided on a Tikka Varmint in .308, Stainless Steel. Probably going to get it bead-blasted non-reflective so the heat shimmer/mirage off the barrel won't be as much of an issue.

Scope choice is a female-dog, though. I've got a nice 3-9x40 Zeiss Conquest, but I would like up to a 16x scope, maybe 30mm tube, so I won't have to get a sloped base.

I have a 1000 yard range nearby and plan on firing out to that range.

Trying to decide between a Zeiss 4.5-14x40 scope (1" tube, so may have to get 20MOA base) vs. a X.O.T.I.C. scope - 4-16x56, 30mm, mildot reticle.

Pretty huge differences here - in price, features, MOA adjustments, WEIGHT, ring height needed (56 mm obj is pretty damn big) etc.

My BIGGEST desire in an optic is CLARITY and lens quality - I want the BEST lens quality for my money - and am willing to spend up to $800 for it (new or used).

Any ideas or suggestions greatly appreciated.
Old 05-04-2005, 08:05 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Newbie here - howdy!

well for just a tad over your budget Brownells has the IOR tactical scopes ,
6-24 x50mm , 30mm tube , some new ones have a 35mm tube!!
16" long and 26oz
Their glass is tope of the line , compaires to Ziess and NF from what i have seen.
Brownells price is $940
Old 05-04-2005, 08:19 PM
Platinum Member

Well, hello and welcome. There are a lot of 308 shooters here and when they get through marlim fishing I'm sure you'll get some advice.