Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

New to the LRH

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2012, 01:24 AM

New to the LRH

Hey there, Im new to the long range stuff 300 yrds has really been my max for the past few years tried 400 and 500 just dont have the accuracy with my 223. Was looking into a new caliber to get. I am really in love with my dads .308. But my buddy shoots a 300 WSM and I like it too. Im just asking what anyone thinks about a good starter caliber to buy. Thanks for the help guys!
Old 02-13-2012, 01:29 AM
Gold Member

Re: New to the LRH

Welcome to LRH! There's a lot of knowledge available on this forum to help you with your goals.

To help get you the right info, provide a bit more info about the goals for your rifle in terms of critters/ranges you'll hunt. Do you or know someone that can assist you reloading your own ammo?
Old 02-13-2012, 09:16 AM

Thanks for the quick reply! Mostly the gun would be used for longer range elk hunting, Coyote hunting in the Arizona flats, and long range target practice. By long range i mean 500 yards and out. I would love to shoot 1000 yards but dont have the knowledge to do so. I do have a friend I reload with, the hand loads we have made for my 223 are super accurate. Reloading for another caliber would not be dificult.
Old 02-13-2012, 09:39 AM
Platinum Member

ADDICT- the gun is more important than the caliber as long is the caliber is appropriate for the game. you Have to have the accuracy neccessary . most questions here can be answered with - remington sendero and leup 6.5-20.
Old 02-13-2012, 10:49 AM
Platinum Member