Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

New to long range hunting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2006, 09:35 PM
Bronze Member

New to long range hunting

Well i'm actually new to hunting altogether to tell the truth, I havnt gotten my license yet... [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img] I havnt had the time this season to do it, we were busy moving and so on.

Right now I have a Stevens 200, 30-06. I'm sure that some of you or all of you have seen my posts. I want to know what the range is on this weapon, if anyone knows.

Well I also want to know, how exactly do you "long range hunt"? How do you measure the distance, how high or low you have to aim the weapon and so on. I'm sure its like sniping, well basically it is, since you use a scope and look through it and so on. I know somewhat about sniping, but then again, I dont know anything at all.

So what I'm asking is, can the experienced long range hunters run me through it, if you wouldnt mind?

Thanks to everyone that contributes,
Mario
Old 12-30-2006, 10:17 PM
Platinum Member

Re: New to long range hunting

well the range of you're rifle depends on its accuracy and the bullets you're using. Do you reload or are you factory. If you want to shoot long range an rangefinder is a necessity. I have a lieca 1200 and love it. I havent dealt with the swarovoski but I like my lieca. Dont bother with bushnell because in my opinion they are junk. So you're guns limiting range depends on the rifles accuracy, you're optics, you're shooting abilities, you're bullet, and the conditions you're shooting in. [ QUOTE ]
how exactly do you "long range hunt"?

[/ QUOTE ] You set up and shoots something. Long range is different to everyone. 300 is long for some while others are taking that out at over 1kyrds.
Old 12-30-2006, 10:32 PM
Bronze Member