close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Reply

New Guy Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 11-24-2009, 08:19 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St Augustine, FL
Posts: 13
New Guy Questions

Ok I'm thinking I've got somthing set wrong in my Exbal software but I'm not sure where, here is the deal.
I'm ringing the steel out to 600 but I have to ajust twice what my balistic tables are telling me. I'm shooting a 300 Wby Mag with a 5.5x22x56 Night Force with the NPR1 reticle. Gun is averaging about 3145 FPS shooting a 185 Berger VLD. I'm zeroed at 250 yards.
So my table is telling me to ajust 33.00 IPHY or hold on (even bar) Four for a 600 yard shot.
Well I hold on my Eight bar & I'm drilling the steel...

I've been shooting for years but new to longrange shooting so I'm sure this is probaly somthing I'm missing or just set up wrong in my software, any ideas?

Thanks,
Shawn
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 11-24-2009, 09:54 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: West Central Idaho
    Posts: 1,218
    Re: New Guy Questions

    Iím not familiar with that scope but I think to use the elevation marks for hold over you have to set the scope at a particular power for the calculations in Exbal to be correct if the reticle is in the second plane.

    When everything else fails dig out the User Manuals.
    __________________
    Jim



    There is something about the outside of a horse that is good for the inside of a man. Sir Winston Churchill.

    Everything that is really great and inspiring is created by the individual who can labor in freedom. Einstein
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 11-24-2009, 10:37 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Location: Arkansas (Home of Record)
    Posts: 1,858
    Re: New Guy Questions

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by kcebcj View Post
    I’m not familiar with that scope but I think to use the elevation marks for hold over you have to set the scope at a particular power for the calculations in Exbal to be correct if the reticle is in the second plane.

    Wa-Bam! Nailed it!

    That or you need to check to make sure you have the correct reticle...

    Last edited by Bravo 4; 11-24-2009 at 10:49 PM.
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 11-24-2009, 10:55 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Location: sebastopol, ca.
    Posts: 418
    Re: New Guy Questions

    There is an "R" on the magnification scale and you need to be on that setting for the scale to work.
    Also make sure you entered the R1 reticle and not the R2. The R2 is 2 moa per line.
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 11-24-2009, 10:57 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Location: SW Montana
    Posts: 5,637
    Re: New Guy Questions

    LoadBase 3.0 has it at 605 on the 4th large bar or 8th bar from center @ 22x
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 11-25-2009, 05:43 AM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2007
    Location: St Augustine, FL
    Posts: 13
    Re: New Guy Questions

    Guys thanks for all the help. As for the maginafication yea I checked that & its set at 22 power, both the scope & software.
    I double checked the recticle & believe I've got it set right. In Exbal you pick the recticle & I chose the NPR1 (Even) so basically I'm using my 2 MOA larger bars like a NPR2. My thought on this was if I picked the wrong recticle I'd be making 1/2 the modifications not twice as much.

    Its not only the elevation bars that are off I also have to correct my "clicks" twice as much.

    On my sight in adjustment, should I have it set with "IPHY" Inch per hundred yards?
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 11-25-2009, 11:20 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Location: SW Montana
    Posts: 5,637
    Re: New Guy Questions

    This has got me very interested and I got the same numbers as you but they are wrong, I also would like to know why?
    I read the manual and everything is MOA but that is not going to explain that large of error if you were doing it in IPHY, the manual says that 22x is the accurate power to be on so that is right.
    It seems you actually holding 16MOA to hit and your having to dial double is not cool, this seems like one of those problems that has a to simple solution that's getting over looked. Someone will figure it out.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: New Guy Questions
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Howa 1500 Questions in .223 Questions jaredagreen Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 15 04-02-2011 02:35 AM
    WSM questions???? long range dogr Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 9 05-21-2010 07:47 AM
    XCR 338 RUM + HS Precision stock. Questions, Questions, Questions raisincenter The Basics, Starting Out 2 11-28-2007 02:44 PM
    Have some questions......... muzzleflash The Basics, Starting Out 14 08-04-2006 09:48 AM
    50 Cal Questions rost495 Equipment Discussions 1 05-03-2006 01:09 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC