Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

NEW Custom gun versus Building new gun

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2014, 05:03 PM
Bronze Member

NEW Custom gun versus Building new gun

Hey guys, im just starting out in this long range stuff. Im thinking about either buying a pre assembled long range gun like a HART, Best of the west in a 7mm rem mag or 300 win mag. These guns are very expensive and i dont want to get taken advantage of. Is it better to buy a gun already put together and comes with load data? or is it best to have a gun smith build you a custom gun with all new parts and do the load development yourself? I see alot of the Harts and Best of the best of the west guns cost up to or even more than $6,000 , how much would it cost to have a gun smith build you a gun to the same quality with new parts? any advice would be great,. I am reloading my own ammo and able to do the load development... I want a left handed long range carry gun for western hunts...
Old 02-10-2014, 05:40 PM
Platinum Member

Re: NEW Custom gun versus Building new gun

Look at the Kelby Atlas guns for half that. Top notch systems.
Old 02-10-2014, 05:44 PM
Platinum Member

Check out Extreme Outer Limits guns. Extremeouterlimitstv.com MOArifles.com

Last edited by WyoElk2Hunt; 02-10-2014 at 05:48 PM. Reason: added tv
Old 02-10-2014, 06:41 PM
Platinum Member

Check out cloud peak gunworks!

Cloud Peak Gunworks Home Page

"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing"
http://www.longrangehunting.com/foru...4-build-83765/ - Build Thread
http://www.longrangehunting.com/foru...-284-a-124876/ - Gun Pictures/Ongoing Shooting Thread
Old 02-10-2014, 07:48 PM
Platinum Member

Have you looked at Len's supply of long range rifles? The icon long range rifles will get you there. Short delivery times, and guaranteed accuracy. Worth a look.
Old 02-11-2014, 02:45 AM
Silver Member