Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Muzzle Brake In 300 Winchester Magnum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2004, 09:29 AM

Muzzle Brake In 300 Winchester Magnum

I am about to have a go at some long range shooting, occasionally hunting. I have been shooting for many years but nothing bigger that 308 and I would appreciate some advice. At this stage I have decided to get 300 Winchester Magnum (I have contemplated 338 Win Mag) and I don’t think that I will change my mind – availability of cheap ammo without a need to reload being the main, but not the only factor. My specific question is in regard to muzzle brake. I understand that by having one installed the recoil will be greatly reduced but there are some drawbacks, especially if occasional use without hearing protection may be required. On the other hand I am quite prepared to increase the overall weight of the rifle (mercury in the stock or whatever) and fit heavy duty recoil pad. Am I kidding myself thinking that I will be able to shoot 40 rounds in the afternoon and not suffer for days afterwards if I go without a muzzle brake?
Thanks
Old 08-14-2004, 09:51 AM
Silver Member

Re: Muzzle Brake In 300 Winchester Magnum

Unless your five feet tall and weigh about 100 pounds I don't see much of a reason for one. You can always shoot the rifle and see how it feels. If you decide you want one then go for it.
Old 08-14-2004, 10:26 AM

I am six feet tall and weigh more than 200 pounds, but I am still bit weary when it comes to recoil. On the other hand I am quite willing to increase the weight of the rifle considerably. This leads to another question, how much would I have to add to the weight of a “standard” rifle to make the recoil manageable/acceptable? I am not that keen to modify the rifle and increase its weight only to find out that muzzle brake must be fitted anyway.
Cheers
Old 08-14-2004, 10:52 AM
Gold Member