Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

MOA question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2008, 11:37 AM
Silver Member

Re: MOA question

Eaglet and Kcebcj:
Thanks for the replies. Both products appear to fit the bill of what I've been looking for. I've done Google searches trying to find similar software but haven't had any luck.

Earl1704:
You've gotten some good advice here. I'm a long range newbie and only infrequently make the drive to where I can shoot over 100 yards. All I can tell you is that in my experience, a rifle/load that groups 1/2 to 3/4 MOA at 100 yards doesn't necessarily consistently group under 1 MOA at 400 yards. Maybe I need to find loads that have a tighter velocity range (I only got a chronograph this summer), or maybe the problem is me. Keep pluggin' away; I know I will.

By the way; I'm impressed by anyone who can put a few shots inside a few inches at 500 yards. I'm not as impressed with 3 shots inside an inch at 100 yards. Even a mediocre rifle/shooter can get 3 in an inch now and then at 100. The goal is to consistently hit your target; and, with practice, to increase your effective range.
Old 08-30-2009, 09:34 AM
Silver Member

OK I got 1 here. I got this old rem pre 700 .06 been working on it the only thing left is pillers and bedding a wood stock. At a 100Y 3 1/2" circle with a 1/2 dot in it. Could barley see it but I kept aiming at the same spot. scope turned up to 5 or 6 a 3x9x40. Out of 10 shots had 4 flyers and the other 6 the bigest spreed is 1" center to center. If I mesure from the center HOLE it is no bigger than a 1/2. So what is the MOA? (can some 1 please answer this) If I could put a pic out here I would
Old 08-31-2009, 09:47 AM
Platinum Member