Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Lower Adrenalin

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2010, 09:58 PM

Lower Adrenalin

Hello,
I am new to distance hunting and have been reading up on the subject for a few years now, but I canít seem to find any information on how to lower my adrenalin level after I place my first shot. I donít particularly enjoy the increased heart rate and worse it throws off my aim, which makes the whole hunting experience less enjoyable. Does anyone have some tips or a book you can recommend about this problem?
Old 03-22-2010, 10:24 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Lower Adrenalin

Im more of an addrenelin junkie, but get a few under your belt, and youll be better able to controll it., Practice getting your heart rate down by pushing the kids(if you have any) around fred meyer in the shopping cart as fast as you can, then go to the free blood pressure reading machine. get a reading, then make yourself relax, and lower your heartbeat. Do this every time you go to the store, and learn how to controll your breathing, and heart rate. as for the addrenelin, after you get a few under your belt,it will ''calm down'' but probably never go away. With practice you can teach yourself to overcome most anything.
I take physical, and mental things like this as a personal challenge, to better myself, but I love the rush, and dont ever want that to go away, as long as I can controll it.

Try doin something that scares you and realy challenges you to continue. I rodeoed, riding bulls, and buckin horses. I, like most, took some pretty hard knocks, but Untill I learned to overcome the anxiety/addrenelin, and be able to think my way through it, I was just hangin on for dear life. One day it clicked, and I was able to controll myself, not just react. Then I got better. I was still nervous before each and every ride, but I learned to controll it, and the rush came afterward.