Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Long Range Shooting Instructor

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2011, 03:03 PM

Long Range Shooting Instructor

I'm new to long-range shooting, but after shooting rounds this past week to 500 yards, I'm hooked. I'm interested in learning to shoot out to 1000 yards. I know I'm a ways away from being able to do that, but I was wondering if anyone could recommend an instructor near the DFW area? I've seen the training classes at Tiger Valley in Waco, but they seem like they're more than one day. I'd like to find someone local who could do shorter classes, more frequently. Does anyone have a recommendation of a facility or class that might be a fit?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 01-10-2011, 01:16 AM
Silver Member

Re: Long Range Shooting Instructor

I do not know anyone in your area, that being said I can give you a few pointers. One pretty good read is the AMU Rifle book, there are actually a few, but you can find the most current at CMP for pretty reasonable.

If you do not have a .22LR, I would highly advise you get one sir. The good old 22lr is an awesome way to learn elevation and windage. One of the first things to work on is setting up some Good Flags, and learning to Read Them! Work on wind reading with those flags, and also work on learning to read mirage. Begin this with a .22lr, trust me! I know it is not glamorous, but that 22lr will teach you the basics without beating you up, without breaking your bank account, and it will allow you to get *A BLOODY LOT LOT LOT* of Trigger Time. Once you can reliably hit 2" or so targets at 100 to 150 yards with some wind using your .22lr, then it is likely time to move up to something like a .223 or a 308win out at around 300 to 500 yards and once again begin working on wind reading and mirage.