Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Long Range Hunting Bullets

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2003, 09:38 AM
Bronze Member

Long Range Hunting Bullets

Need suggestions for a good LR bullet for my 7mm Remington Ultra Mag in a Remington Sendero.

From what I've come across, many long range shooters have suggested "match" bullets as well as "custom" bullets. Both of which, I've never used for hunting.

Since the manufacturers of such bullets do not advocate them for hunting, which bullets have performed well for hunting. I'm new to the Long range realm and this is one topic I'm not too sure about. Any info on good suggestions for hunting bullets for my 7mm RUM is appreciated.
Old 07-21-2003, 10:11 AM

Re: Long Range Hunting Bullets

Mountaineer,
I would suggest the 162 grn. Hornady Amax. Yes, Yes , Yes, I know they are MATCH bullets but take it from many on here with experience THEY WORK very well for Long Range applications. If they were a BAD choice the guys on here would not use them.... Also you could try the SMK, JLK, Bergers etc. etc. You will be Very SURPRISED at the way these suggestions perform in hunting situations. [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]
Old 07-21-2003, 01:10 PM
Bronze Member

Jerry, 338-378 and Darryl

Thanks!

Jerry I especially want to thank you for breaking it down ballistically for me. I always suspected the impact velocity of the bullet to be a crucial factor in the design for a hunting bullet. As you mentioned, the LR impact velocities are something that not every manufacturer has taken under their wing to design since most Joe Shooter's keep their shots well under 400 yards. I'll probably buy a couple boxes of the "match" ammo to try out.

Any favorite 7mm RUM loads I should try?
Old 07-21-2003, 04:05 PM
Writers Guild