Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Left handed help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2012, 11:34 AM

Left handed help

Hello, I'm brand new to this web-forum, and have really enjoyed reading the threads and opinions on long-range rifles and shooting. I particularly found the 1st time custom builds and budget builds very informative. However, being left-handed a lot of information isn't useful to me, unless I'm going to break the bank. Being a novice/newbie and on a budget, I'd like to get opinions (or even links) for a lefty's 1st budget long-range (400-800 yards) rifle build. Feel free to include stock, action, caliber, barrel, optics, etc. information. (FYI - primarily a white-tail, coyote, and target shooter.) Thanks....
Old 04-05-2012, 11:44 AM
Gold Member

Re: Left handed help

Well, being a lefty your options are limited as you know. One of thing that I like about savage is they do cater to left handers and for the money, you simply cannot beat them plus they are very accurate. Give savage a serious look.

Randy

"I'd rather wake up in the middle of nowhere than be in any city on earth." ---Steve McQueen
Old 04-05-2012, 06:13 PM

I'm in precisely the same boat as you except that I'm looking for a little more long range performance prairie dog rifle.

You didn't mention a caliber. I've been looking at .243 and found either the savage 10 predator hunter, 16 weather warrior both with accustock or the 14 american classic. Remington has the CDL or a bunch or SPS variants.

I've heard bad things about the SPS stocks and new triggers that come on the lower end Remingtons. I don't know how much of that is true.

The Savage's seem to be pretty highly regarded, but I wonder whether their stocks are throw away, too.
Old 04-05-2012, 08:42 PM
Platinum Member

Here are a couple of my LH Savages.