Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Handloading dies question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2014, 01:51 PM

Handloading dies question

I am new to handloading, read A LOT of stuff about it, ordered the ABC's of reloading and started reading that, but had a couple questions. I am going to be reloading .338 Lapua. What are some progressive and single stage presses that will fit that round? I was looking at the Dillon 550b. I had read somewhere that the 650 wont fit the 338, but I dont know for sure. Secondly, do I need a set of dies for everything I do? Do I need a set of dies for neck sizing and a seperate set for priming and seating my projectile? Or do I just need one set of dies and it does whatever I need? I have googled this question and can not find anything. Thanks for the help!
Old 02-20-2014, 07:04 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Handloading dies question

I would recommend a single stage press for more precise loading than a progressive press. RCBS Rock Chucker is what i use and love it i use my Dillon 550 for piston ammo more than rifle ammo, I would also recommend Redding Dies. That is what I like over the RCBS dies. You will need a different set of dies for each caliber you reload.
Old 02-20-2014, 07:58 PM
Platinum Member

forget a progressive for the 338.

Progressives are nice IF and WHEN you finally get them set up and leave them. However, they are really for high volume pistol and some rifle rounds but a 338 would not even fit any progressive available that I know of.

Buy the rockchucker. Mine is 40+ years old and still knocking them out good as the first day.
Old 02-21-2014, 07:14 AM
Gold Member