Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Comfortable minimum number of guns for effective hunting?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2013, 07:53 PM

Comfortable minimum number of guns for effective hunting?

Hi All,

I'm very new to gun ownership and hunting in general, as well as this site. All I have so far is a S&W 5 shot revolver that my granddad that is 99 years old. As I'm in Canada, this gun can't be used for hunting

So part of the selling of the hobby to my wife was that I would NOT get into gun collecting, which several of her male relatives have been bad examples of leading to marital strife. (i.e. Running up credit card bills, buying guns instead of getting something for the kids, impulse buys that they couldn't afford etc)

I life in BC, Canada, and so have a very wide availability of game that I can hunt here. I'd like to be able to hunt everything that I legally can at least once, from small game/varmints all the way to big game like Moose. Preserving meat & pelts is a priority, as is getting bullets easily. I'd like to get some fur rugs, jackets and blankets from various critters out there. At the same time, I'd like to keep my options open for long range hunting down the road once I master shooting things close to me. I'm not sure what caliber mix is really necessary for this, from what I've read a guy can get by with maybe 3-4 guns comfortably, but which calibers? Any advice/suggestions would be great.
Old 01-02-2013, 09:24 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Comfortable minimum number of guns for effective hunting?

Hmmmm, for nearly 35 years I had only two guns. One a 12 gauge and the other a 270 Winchester. I hardly used the shotgun for anything and used the 270 Win for everything from rock chucks, fox, coyote, deer, elk and moose. It served me well.

I now have only 4 rifles. 3 bolt action single shot and one gas gun.