close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

Reply

Changing scopes on a flattop question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 03-02-2012, 09:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
Changing scopes on a flattop question

I'd like to change between a high power varmint scope to a Barska Electro Sight. I have a AR 15 flattop. How big of a change will this have on zero if both sights have been zeroed on this rifle?
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 03-03-2012, 04:58 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Location: Thunder Basin, WY
    Posts: 1,788
    Re: Changing scopes on a flattop question

    Supposedly, the best and most precise removable mounts can achieve 1/4 to 1/2 MOA repeatability, when a torque wrench is used.? I cant say from experience though, I haven't tried them myself.
    __________________
    Aim small = Miss small
    SBruce

    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 03-03-2012, 08:04 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: Northeast
    Posts: 3,411
    Re: Changing scopes on a flattop question

    I switch between an ACOG-3x, 3x9 Mk4, and my stock, open sight handle on my Colt HBar. All have the same height from the bore, about 3.5". I left the stock mil spec front sight on with no distortion issues. Impact is within .75" at 100 yards with all three sights using a 40"/# of torque. This is with 55gr. factory Remington Accutips , and 62 gr. Green Tips 556 . It might be better, but this is the typical accuracy of this rifle.
    __________________

    "Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready"-T. Roosevelt
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 03-03-2012, 10:37 AM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Posts: 10
    Re: Changing scopes on a flattop question

    Thanks for the reply. The torque thing makes sense. I live in heavy timber so a shot at a coyote or wolf in on the livestock is quick and close. The Barska is perfect for this. When I go east to the open country the big scope is the thing to use. PK
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 03-03-2012, 08:30 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Location: Arkansas (Home of Record)
    Posts: 1,858
    Re: Changing scopes on a flattop question

    We remove our scopes after every major training event to clean and if mounted properly I haven't seen more than a 1 MOA shift in POI.
    __________________
    Courage is just fear that has said it's prayers.

    The people trying to say the 2nd Amendment is outdated are probably the same folks that would say the same thing about the Bible.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Changing scopes on a flattop question
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    DPMS Upper Receiver LR-308 A3 Flattop In Stock and On Sale! CS T Gun Parts - Stocks, Barrels, Actions, etc. 2 03-01-2010 10:04 PM
    scopes with the mil-dot...question wilderness_dreamer Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 3 07-18-2009 11:49 AM
    Question about spotting scopes KQguy Long Range Hunting & Shooting 2 12-19-2007 11:18 PM
    question re using mildot scopes jmbn Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 2 01-01-2005 12:12 AM
    question re using mildot scopes jmbn The Basics, Starting Out 0 12-30-2004 02:03 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC