Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out


Reply

Changing scopes on a flattop question

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2012, 09:18 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
Changing scopes on a flattop question

I'd like to change between a high power varmint scope to a Barska Electro Sight. I have a AR 15 flattop. How big of a change will this have on zero if both sights have been zeroed on this rifle?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2012, 04:58 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Thunder Basin, WY
Posts: 1,788
Re: Changing scopes on a flattop question

Supposedly, the best and most precise removable mounts can achieve 1/4 to 1/2 MOA repeatability, when a torque wrench is used.? I cant say from experience though, I haven't tried them myself.
__________________
Aim small = Miss small
SBruce

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2012, 08:04 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Northeast
Posts: 2,197
Re: Changing scopes on a flattop question

I switch between an ACOG-3x, 3x9 Mk4, and my stock, open sight handle on my Colt HBar. All have the same height from the bore, about 3.5". I left the stock mil spec front sight on with no distortion issues. Impact is within .75" at 100 yards with all three sights using a 40"/# of torque. This is with 55gr. factory Remington Accutips , and 62 gr. Green Tips 556 . It might be better, but this is the typical accuracy of this rifle.
__________________

"Let us speak courteously, deal fairly, and keep ourselves armed and ready"-T. Roosevelt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2012, 10:37 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
Re: Changing scopes on a flattop question

Thanks for the reply. The torque thing makes sense. I live in heavy timber so a shot at a coyote or wolf in on the livestock is quick and close. The Barska is perfect for this. When I go east to the open country the big scope is the thing to use. PK
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2012, 08:30 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,174
Re: Changing scopes on a flattop question

We remove our scopes after every major training event to clean and if mounted properly I haven't seen more than a 1 MOA shift in POI.
__________________
Courage is just fear that has said it's prayers.

The people trying to say the 2nd Amendment is outdated are probably the same folks that would say the same thing about the Bible.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Changing scopes on a flattop question
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DPMS Upper Receiver LR-308 A3 Flattop In Stock and On Sale! CS T Gun Parts - Stocks, Barrels, Actions, etc. 2 03-01-2010 10:04 PM
scopes with the mil-dot...question wilderness_dreamer Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 3 07-18-2009 11:49 AM
Question about spotting scopes KQguy Long Range Hunting & Shooting 2 12-19-2007 11:18 PM
question re using mildot scopes jmbn Long Range Scopes and Other Optics 2 01-01-2005 12:12 AM
question re using mildot scopes jmbn The Basics, Starting Out 0 12-30-2004 02:03 PM

Current Poll
Do You Think Slingshots Should Be Legalized For Hunting Brown Bear?
Yes - 47.51%
840 Votes
No - 52.49%
928 Votes
Total Votes: 1,768
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC