Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out


Reply

Can I start load development with new brass?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2002, 09:40 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 469
Can I start load development with new brass?

I have some new lapua brass coming this week, I am finally ready to start reloading. It will be for a 308 win. I am not going to neck turn the brass. The rifle has a good custom chamber that allows me to shoot federal match and black hills match ammo without any problems. Don't know the exact specs of the chamber.

I was just wondering if there is a big difference between new brass and fire formed brass?? Can I start load development with the new brass or do I need to fire-form it first?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2002, 06:38 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 2,369
Re: Can I start load development with new brass?

I shoot the new brass and only notice a little tightening of the group size once I've fired the brass once. I use the Lapua brass in my 308 too, great stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2002, 07:44 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 469
Re: Can I start load development with new brass?

thanks, the great to hear. I will post my results.

How much bullet jump do you set on your 308 win??

[ 05-13-2002: Message edited by: sr90 ]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2002, 10:12 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 2,369
Re: Can I start load development with new brass?

For my latest rifle I load to max. OAL for the 308 (2.880 I believe) as it's a short action M40A1 style (match chamber designed for Fed GM & 175's) . I use varying amounts and can't recall the load for the M24 I had.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-13-2002, 10:58 AM
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Can I start load development with new brass?

SR90-
Start with about 42 gr of Varget(working up to about 45 gr.) under a 175 gr or 168 gr SMK seated just touching the lands(working out to about .015 off). I also use Fed210M primers. I use LC89 Match brass with 42.5 gr Varget/Fed210M primer/175 SMK/.005" off. This load chronos about 2775 from my 28" barrel. It is a good starting point.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-13-2002, 03:40 PM
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Can I start load development with new brass?

I usually increase the powder charge by .5 gr increments. I am using a lighter charge(42.5 gr) because of the thickness/weight of the LC brass. Good luck w/the load development!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2002, 11:22 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 469
Re: Can I start load development with new brass?

Hey how did you know I was using varget? [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
I also will be using the fed 210M

What grain increments should I increase the loads from 42-45 grains?

I was planning on having the bullet just kiss the lands during my initial testing while increasing the powder load. then after I found a good load then start backing the bullet away from the lands to see where to seat them.

Am I on the right track guys?

[ 05-13-2002: Message edited by: sr90 ]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Can I start load development with new brass?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kirby Allen’s “no load development” load development method. WildcatB Reloading 70 09-24-2012 06:01 PM
338 Rum load development D.Camilleri Reloading 12 06-20-2011 01:47 AM
.243 load development ajridgedell Reloading 14 01-23-2011 08:55 PM
once fired brass and load development buckbrush Reloading 4 07-08-2009 10:46 AM
Load Development Coyoter The Basics, Starting Out 7 03-03-2002 03:08 PM

Current Poll
I currently have hunting preference points in the following states

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC