Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

7mm

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 10:43 PM

7mm

im new to long range shooting and have a question. What do you guys think my max range is with my 7mm rem mag with factory ammo i shoot a 140 gr bullet. is there any limit on how far i can shoot
Old 02-26-2011, 10:56 PM
Silver Member

Re: 7mm

Matt, there's always a limit on how far you can shoot. First an foremost, your ability is the most limiting factor, followed closely by the laws of physics. What speed are the 140's traveling? What type of bullet? What is the intended target? Are we punching paper or hunting elk? Definately need some more intel to answer this one,
Old 02-27-2011, 09:45 AM

i now live in az so i would say elk is a possibility if i get drawn i know the 140s are enough for couses deer and antelope. i guess my question is am i limited on killing bigger game with the 7mm at 500yds or farther. i shoot pretty tight groups with it at 400yds now. factory loads are what i use so i can shoot a variety of different loads if the 140s arent heavy enough. i hpoe this makes sense
Old 02-27-2011, 10:00 AM
Silver Member