Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

.300wby vangaurd

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2007, 10:24 PM
Bronze Member

.300wby vangaurd

Hello all, This is my first post on this forum. I have never hunted anything larger than white tail in southern michigan ( a shotgun only zone ) so I have little experience with rifles I shoot very regularly mostly clays and handguns. My dad, brother and I are planning a elk trip to Idaho next year and I am looking for a rifle. After doing alot of surfing on ballistics and cost I have come to like the .300 wby in the vanguard sub moa with a accubrake. Is it worth the extra money to buy the sub moa model ? I wont have much extra money after I get the rifle and scope which I am looking at a leupold vx-3 6.5 - 20. I want to know if this is a capable long range gun? I will be purchasing this just after the first of the year and will shoot 1 night a week until we go in october. I am concearned in that this will most likely be my one chance at going on a elk trip so if I have to make a 5 to 6 hundred yard shot I want a sufficiant rifle thanks all.
Old 11-14-2007, 12:00 AM
Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by outdooraddict View Post