Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Hunting > The Basics, Starting Out

1st Rifle Build...Help with details please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2008, 11:26 PM

1st Rifle Build...Help with details please.

I was referred to this site by a fellow shooter. He said ya'll knew your business, from what I've read over the past several weeks I must agree. My usual shooting website don't really 'agree', for a lack of better terms, with long range hunting tactics. I'm confused about what I need to build a precision LR hunting rifle.
I'm looking to build a custom long range hunting rifle, 1000y for paper and only as far as I feel comfortable for deer. I've been shooting out to 500 for several years with tuned factory rigs. I want to make sure that I make well informed decisions that will compliment my shooting/hunting style. I will tell you what I want, hopefully you will enlighten me as to what I need. I'm looking to build a true long range hunting rifle. I will shoot it year round on my range. I love to tinker with handloads and try new components. I want it light enough that it's functional as a hunting rifle. It will be used from 'shooting houses' on pipeline right of ways. 10-12 pounds or so all up. One of the various 7mm's (7RM, STW) will be chosen, probably STW. Barrel in the 27" range. Stiller action, McM stock, Krieger barrel, resprung 700 trigger.
1) Actions - I'm LEFT-HANDED. Stiller Predator or TAC comes in Lefty. Is Stiller my only choice? I've heard the Predator wasn't exactly a true long range action, just a real nice all around unit. Is the TAC300 a better choice.
2) Stock- HTG design like M40A1.
3) Barrel- Krieger SS at 27", #5 straight, 6 or 7 fluted?
4) Do I need a 20 moa base or not?
5) Which rings?
6) Scope is undecided.