Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions


Reply

Magneto Speed V3

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #15  
Old 07-15-2014, 10:19 PM
556 556 is online now
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: East Missouri
Posts: 37
Re: Magneto Speed V3

I like my Magneto Speed. I certainly have no regrets purchasing it. The biggest advantage is reliability and ease of setting up. Have I changed my testing procedure? Yes. But the benefits of having a reliable chronograph and not having to go through the pain of setting it up on a busy range is well worth the change in my testing procedure. I actually test my loads more with my Magneto Speed than my old chronograph. Another benefit.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-15-2014, 10:32 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lake Tahoe, Calif.
Posts: 233
Re: Magneto Speed V3

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfpalm View Post
I can't think of a better way to justify stuffing my own. Even if the chrono changed the point of aim, the difference would still show up in the group.
Agreed, if POI just shifts with the thing attached to the barrel no big deal; you can dial that in and change the scope back later when you take it off. But if it affects the the group size for a given velocity (range), then that would confuse things.

Stuffing your own...Yup accuracy is probably the biggest justification for spending time hand loading, if one has to justify it. But even when I get lucky in terms of accuracy with a certain brand/model of factory ammo I end up using those cases for hand loads.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-16-2014, 07:16 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lake Tahoe, Calif.
Posts: 233
Re: Magneto Speed V3

And yea, busy shooting ranges are a bit of a hindrance to using a standard chronograph on a tripod so the Magneto gets over that. Oh, unless it is one of those oh-so-strict city ranges where they won't let you attach anything to your barrel for liability reasons! Has anyone had an issue with that?

They are also a hindrance to shooting anything beyond 200 yards unless you have a spotter pit out under the long distance targets. Once I even had a rangemaster tell me "you're the only 1 shooting at 300 yards and 20 other shooters (shooting 50 - 100) don't want to wait for your target posting and retrieval." Ranges near cities generally suck....but I digress, as usual.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-16-2014, 10:08 PM
556 556 is online now
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: East Missouri
Posts: 37
Re: Magneto Speed V3

I have not encountered or heard of anyone not being allowed to attach a magneto speed to the end of a barrel on a public range. Although, I would not be surprised either. My priority when loading is accuracy first, velocity second. I often test a few rounds during my load testing to give me an idea of my velocity. But when I find my accuracy load I will load up several rounds and check velocity, ES, etc. One thing I like with the magneto speed it the ability to down load the data to an excel spread sheet. Something I could not do with my old unreliable chronograph.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-18-2014, 03:17 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,449
Re: Magneto Speed V3

When I am working up loads I do things in a specific order to save time and money.

First I look for a load that reaches the desired velocity, good SDs (Below 15 ft/sec) and good ESs.
This tells me I have a good consistent load With the bullet weight I want to use.

Then With that load I find the bullet and seating depth that gives me the best groups at the desired
distance.

I have found that this saves me lots of testing, components and barrel life. Trying to get to much information at a time will sometimes mask other problem and lots of testing has to be done to end up with the final results. (Make one change at a time and you can see the change).

I use the magneto speed to develop the load and then it is tested without the magneto speed attached for group and POI.

Just the way I do the load workup.

J E CUSTOM
__________________
"PRESS ON"
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-18-2014, 07:21 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 587
Re: Magneto Speed V3

Quote:
Originally Posted by J E Custom View Post
When I am working up loads I do things in a specific order to save time and money.

First I look for a load that reaches the desired velocity, good SDs (Below 15 ft/sec) and good ESs.
I use the magneto speed to develop the load and then it is tested without the magneto speed attached for group and POI.

Just the way I do the load workup.

J E CUSTOM
I'm thinking this is one of those bits of advice you don't want to ignore considering who is saying it. Lots of hard earned experience right here.
__________________
Borden Timberline 300 Win Mag - Hart 26" #4 fluted - McMillan A3 Edge - Jewell Trigger - ATACR
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-18-2014, 09:45 PM
556 556 is online now
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: East Missouri
Posts: 37
Re: Magneto Speed V3

I agree! Thanks J E. I appreciate your insight/advice. Personally I believe a person should always listen to others and than challenge my thinking and or processes in order to keep learning and improving. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 32.68%
84 Votes
NO - 49.81%
128 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 17.51%
45 Votes
Total Votes: 257
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC