Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions


Reply

Magneto Speed V3

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 04-24-2014, 04:56 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: iowa
Posts: 80
Re: Magneto Speed V3

Quote:
Originally Posted by elkoholic72 View Post
That is a big POI change! Most rifles I shoot it through makes the group rise 1/2-1 inch with no group size change.

it is a 26" barrel so that may have something to do with it. i can guarantee it wasn't loose

poi on my 20" ar is around 4" higher and my 6.5-284 24" is 2" left and 2" high
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2014, 12:15 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 588
Re: Magneto Speed V3

Curious how you guys are using these Magneto's ... do you do your load development without any chrono data, and then attach the magneto after to get velocity??

I can't imagine you can work up a load with it attached ....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-25-2014, 12:41 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: iowa
Posts: 80
Re: Magneto Speed V3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timber338 View Post
Curious how you guys are using these Magneto's ... do you do your load development without any chrono data, and then attach the magneto after to get velocity??

I can't imagine you can work up a load with it attached ....
\


i run a one shot pressure/velocity check for the range of charges i think will work to get me ballpark with the chrono on then i load my desired ladder do my work ups then after i have chosen my charge i do a 10 shot velocity check with the chrono.

i can't do work ups with it on i have a huge poi shift.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-25-2014, 12:58 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 588
Re: Magneto Speed V3

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggdawg View Post
\


i run a one shot pressure/velocity check for the range of charges i think will work to get me ballpark with the chrono on then i load my desired ladder do my work ups then after i have chosen my charge i do a 10 shot velocity check with the chrono.

i can't do work ups with it on i have a huge poi shift.
I figured that had to be the process. I'm also guessing that the Magneto is a whole lot more accurate than a standard chrono, and you don't have to mess with the sunshade, aligning it right, and all that crap.

I'll have to save up some $ so I can get one. Always fun to have the latest and greatest.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-03-2014, 01:49 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Bend, Oregon
Posts: 1,218
Re: Magneto Speed V3

I have the V2. It's has about 100 shots fired over it and the buckle on the strap broke. Before the strap broke once in awhile the plug on the sensor would come loose and then we get no readings. I now use zip ties to secure it and that works really well. It does change my point of impact and it opens my groups up so tests are done without it and then chronograph the finished product to obtain the speed for my drop chart.
__________________
Build a man a fire and you heat him for a day.
Set him on fire and you heat him for life.

Only accurate rifles are interesting.

Gordy and Brady.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-14-2014, 10:21 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lake Tahoe, Calif.
Posts: 233
Re: Magneto Speed V3

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggdawg View Post
\


i run a one shot pressure/velocity check for the range of charges i think will work to get me ballpark with the chrono on then i load my desired ladder do my work ups then after i have chosen my charge i do a 10 shot velocity check with the chrono.

i can't do work ups with it on i have a huge poi shift.
I don't want to be a buzz kill, but have to put forth my .02 on this one.

Before I start, I will say that I rarely shoot at controlled ranges. I shoot at a self regulated range in a rural area - USFS land - so very different from busy regulated "city ranges". Therefore I am not restricted to access my chrono by a range master.

What is mentioned by Timber338 and bigdawg is the first thing I thought of when I saw the first Magneto. Anything touching the barrel can affect POI AND group size, but I see in a previous post someone mentions that it doesn't change their group size. (However your mileage may vary.)

I design products (actually designed and made my own chrono on a Vector board & wire wrap in 1985 using a Z80 processor as a hobby project - no big deal really), and the knowledge that POI and group size could be affected by something attached to the barrel steered me away from a design like that. As we see, it is actually causing the users to change their methodology of load development and fire even more rounds than a device that doesn't affect trajectory. ONE OF THE FIRST RULES OF PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT IS, DON'T MAKE THE USER CHANGE THEIR METHODOLOGY UNLESS THE BENEFITS ARE OVERWHELMING.

When do I use a chrono? A lot of the time! I use it for load development. I also use it to confirm velocities whenever any variable changes after I have a good load (primer, brass, trim length, annealing, etc.). I also use it to observe different atmospheric affects on the gun and powder (hot days vs. very cold etc.). I have put well over 1000 rifle rounds through my chrono in the last few years. (Hundreds of pistol rounds as well though for those I don't worry about the target- its just for speed testing. The Magneto obviously is a no go for testing pistol ammo.)

In all of these (rifle) tests I compare the target with the chrono data.

Cost of shooting is something to consider as well, especially if you shoot a lot of Barnes or other premium projectiles.

The convenience benefit is clear with the Magneto. Access to the chronometer at a regulated range would be a big plus and perhaps more important for many, robustness of operating in different lighting conditions. But for me that does not merit a change in load development and verification methodology. (Not to mention 2X-3x the cost of a standard design chrono, along with a significant increase in ammo usage/cost.)

Just my own humble opinion.

Have fun, be safe!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-15-2014, 07:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 6
Re: Magneto Speed V3

I found that using my Magneto Speed chrono while evaluating my ammo precision, I could match the higher velocity with the higher hit, and the lower with the low hit. I was shooting some factory loads that turned out to have 82 fps extreme spread. The high velocity round was .515" higher than the lowest velocity. When my velocity range was tightened by using reloads, the group dropped accordingly. I can't think of a better way to justify stuffing my own. Even if the chrono changed the point of aim, the difference would still show up in the group.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 34.58%
120 Votes
NO - 48.41%
168 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 17.00%
59 Votes
Total Votes: 347
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC