Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions


Reply

Magneto Speed V3

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2014, 08:06 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 155
Magneto Speed V3

I had a package show up today from the mail man. This is my first Magneto Speed Chrono so I have no comparisons to give. I won't be able to get out till next week to try it out as I am on call for work.
Attached Thumbnails - Click to View Larger
Magneto Speed V3-img_20140418_165344_641.jpg  
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2014, 08:59 PM
556 556 is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: East Missouri
Posts: 41
Re: Magneto Speed V3

That looks real sweet! I have the magneto speed V2 and I love mine. My understanding the V3 is more user friendly and refined.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2014, 09:10 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 155
Re: Magneto Speed V3

Well I couldn't wait any longer, so I got my Magneto Speed V3 set up on my 300 win mag and put 6 rounds down the tube today. Setup is pretty straight forward after reading through the manual. I did email Ivan at Magneto Speed with some pictures and concern about the closeness of my muzzle in relation to the sensors. He responded saying everything looked well setup and offered some minor adjustments which were taken. I can't compare to previous versions as this is my first magneto speed. The menu screen is pretty easy to read and navigate through as well, and setup is easy
Attached Thumbnails - Click to View Larger
Magneto Speed V3-img_20140418_210815_373.jpg   Magneto Speed V3-img_20140418_211007_647.jpg  

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2014, 10:04 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: iowa
Posts: 83
Re: Magneto Speed V3

just a note on the magnetospeed, love mine but it shifts my poi big time on my 300 win mag 700 adl here is a target, i shot 2 3 shot groups testing a load then put the chrono on and tested the velocity of 3 rounds. i was aiming at the bottom right target. it shifted the poi 6 inches up.

i had to change my load development procedure from the standard chrono i was using. now i run a pressure ladder with chrono to check speeds and pressure signs. then i load up my ladder find the load then test it and recheck velocity i just to look for accuracy on the velocity rounds.

enjoy it i love how easy it is to set up and go and you don't have to worry about the wind blowing it over or sun in the sensors or any of that stuff.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2014, 11:52 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: laurel, montana
Posts: 223
Re: Magneto Speed V3

That is a big POI change! Most rifles I shoot it through makes the group rise 1/2-1 inch with no group size change.
__________________
Oversize image removed
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2014, 12:20 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 155
Re: Magneto Speed V3

That's a big shift. I will take that into consideration when I get a chance to work with my 215 bergers.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2014, 01:53 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: south of London, UK
Posts: 104
Re: Magneto Speed V3

My V3 is in the mail today.
I have used the V2 and hat that shifted my POI high and right a little.
It does depend on the barrel as well as the mounting being loose.
Been told the new model is improved and less likely to loosen.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC