Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Gortex boots...are they really waterproof?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2008, 08:42 PM
Silver Member

Re: Gortex boots...are they really waterproof?

I've been wearing Irish Setter Goretex boots for the last nine years.I find them to be the best Goretex boots I've tried.The all leather ones are rugged,dry and long life boots.The Rocky boots were the worst.Didn't have too much luck with Danners and Merrils either.
Old 10-26-2008, 11:23 PM
Silver Member

Gortex is "Guaranteed to keep you dry!" Gortex really means it when they say that, Gortex has a life time waranty, only problem is you have to first get wet in order to use it. I recently had to send in a pair of Danner Pronghorns, and a pair of Browning Hydroflece pants, they called my within days of recieving the stuff and fully replaced wih new gear.. Gortex's cutomer service is excellent, they really stand behind their product.
Old 10-27-2008, 01:01 PM
Silver Member

I have 3 pairs of Danners (Acadia, Raptor, and another I don't know the name of) with gore-tex, Asolo mountaineering boots with gore-tex, had one pair of Rocky bearclaw's, a ton of Mountain Hardwear gear which has gore-tex and a lot more I'm forgetting.

None of my boots have ever leaked except the Rocky bearclaw. First and last pair of Rocky's for me...not just because they leaked, but because of poor construction and lasting only two years before falling apart. Two pairs of the Danners I have are going on 10+ years. I don't baby them, but I do take care of them.

The quality manufactured products with genuine gore-tex have never let me down. Anybody can put gore-tex laminates or booties in any product, but if it isn't done right you're throwing away money.
Old 10-27-2008, 01:31 PM
Platinum Member