Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Dream portable shooting bench

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2010, 12:41 PM
Bronze Member

Dream portable shooting bench

I have been fabbing whatever I needed for about the last 30 years or so. I am about to set up an assembly project to build half a dozen portable shooting benches. I am planning tripods with adjustable legs for leveling, a round post main frame, swiveling seats with adjustment for height and swivelling tops with a cut out. The frame will be steel and the top 5/4 or 1.5 inches of plywood and laminate. My main uses will be for our setups for fun longer range shooting(200-1000yard) at our farms. We will set them and targets up for the day and then remove them at the end of the day or weekend. We will also use them for prairie dog hunting. I am making them for a friend and family. We will use hunting rifles as well as target rifles. The point of this querry is, what size of top do you prefer and if you could change anything on yours what would you do differently?
Old 12-27-2010, 06:28 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Dream portable shooting bench

I've got the BR Pivot. The top is attached to the vertical post in the center, as are most portable benches I've seen. However, the problem with this is; when you lean or support any of your body on the bench top, the top moves up or down depending on how hard you're leaning into it. I can adjust the front rifle rest with no contact, but when I snuggle down into the gun, it all needs re-done again.

I am sure that I don't shoot as good off a "rocking" bench as I would a solid steel and concrete one.

I am thinking of attaching some telescoping legs (kinda like outriggers if you will) to the underside of the laminate wood top. This would eliminate alot of the movement when resting the upper body against the bench top I think.