Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions


Reply

Do you use a windmeter?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2009, 07:41 AM
PUBLISHER
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,826
Do you use a windmeter?

If so, which brand and model?
__________________


Long Range Hunting Rifles

Long Range Rifles, LLC - Ready To Ship

Components and assembly by LRH Sponsors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2009, 08:49 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Townsend, Montana.
Posts: 7,734
Re: Do you use a windmeter?

Yes, almost every shot beyond 500 yards. I use a Kestrel 2500 NV. Kinda wish I would have gotten a 3500 for humidity, but the humidity makes so little difference in the tradjectory it is not an issue.

Jeff
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2009, 11:43 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,654
Re: Do you use a windmeter?

Yes I use a Kestrel 3500 NV

BIGBUCK
__________________
"Molon Labe"
IN DIXIE WE DON"T CALL 911 !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2009, 12:07 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N.Y. (Upstate)
Posts: 228
Re: Do you use a windmeter?

Yes, Kestrel 3500 NV

Love it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2009, 02:54 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 3,833
Re: Do you use a windmeter?

Never leave home without my Kestrel 3500.
__________________
ss7mm
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2009, 09:56 PM
SPONSOR
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 2,666
Re: Do you use a windmeter?

Kestrel 4000
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2009, 10:28 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 8,047
Re: Do you use a windmeter?

You guys are way over gunned.....

I use a Cabelas Brunton $80 one.

Wind measurement calibrated against speedometers of all three of our vehicles. Spot on.

Elevation is all over the place but house is at 4535 thus easy to calibrate.

Baro after inital adjustment remains spot on. NOAA local weather station used for calibration. Link: http://www.noaa.inel.gov/windV/windV.asp

Use NWS for forecasting. Link:NWS radar image loop of Composite Reflectivity from Pocatello/Idaho Falls, ID
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Do you use a windmeter?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kestrel 3500 windmeter HARLEYRIDER Other Stuff For Sale 0 01-16-2011 02:45 PM
Wtb windmeter HeskethPritchard Other Stuff For Sale 1 02-25-2010 07:17 PM
Kestrel Windmeter? Troy Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 6 09-20-2006 11:15 PM
Windmeter info.?? Jake in NC Long Range Hunting & Shooting 13 02-24-2003 09:44 PM

Current Poll
How Many Different Cartridges Do You Reload For?
ZERO, all factory ammo - 7.99%
349 Votes
1 - 2.79%
122 Votes
2 or 3 - 14.55%
636 Votes
4 or 5 - 20.32%
888 Votes
6 or 7 - 14.87%
650 Votes
8 or 9 - 8.67%
379 Votes
10 or more - 30.80%
1,346 Vote
Total Votes: 4,370
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC