close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply

Do you use a windmeter?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 10-03-2009, 07:41 AM
PUBLISHER
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,520
Do you use a windmeter?

If so, which brand and model?
__________________
- -
Long Range Rifles, LLC - Ready To Ship

.
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 10-03-2009, 08:49 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2007
    Location: Townsend, Montana.
    Posts: 8,547
    Re: Do you use a windmeter?

    Yes, almost every shot beyond 500 yards. I use a Kestrel 2500 NV. Kinda wish I would have gotten a 3500 for humidity, but the humidity makes so little difference in the tradjectory it is not an issue.

    Jeff
    __________________
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 10-03-2009, 11:43 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Posts: 1,654
    Re: Do you use a windmeter?

    Yes I use a Kestrel 3500 NV

    BIGBUCK
    __________________
    "Molon Labe"
    IN DIXIE WE DON"T CALL 911 !
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 10-03-2009, 12:07 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: N.Y. (Upstate)
    Posts: 228
    Re: Do you use a windmeter?

    Yes, Kestrel 3500 NV

    Love it.
    __________________
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 10-03-2009, 02:54 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2005
    Location: Yakima, Washington
    Posts: 3,832
    Re: Do you use a windmeter?

    Never leave home without my Kestrel 3500.
    __________________
    ss7mm
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 10-03-2009, 09:56 PM
    SPONSOR
     
    Join Date: Jun 2007
    Location: Wyoming
    Posts: 2,817
    Re: Do you use a windmeter?

    Kestrel 4000
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 10-03-2009, 10:28 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2004
    Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
    Posts: 8,859
    Re: Do you use a windmeter?

    You guys are way over gunned.....

    I use a Cabelas Brunton $80 one.

    Wind measurement calibrated against speedometers of all three of our vehicles. Spot on.

    Elevation is all over the place but house is at 4535 thus easy to calibrate.

    Baro after inital adjustment remains spot on. NOAA local weather station used for calibration. Link: http://www.noaa.inel.gov/windV/windV.asp

    Use NWS for forecasting. Link:NWS radar image loop of Composite Reflectivity from Pocatello/Idaho Falls, ID
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Do you use a windmeter?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Kestrel 3500 windmeter HARLEYRIDER Other Stuff For Sale 0 01-16-2011 02:45 PM
    Wtb windmeter HeskethPritchard Other Stuff For Sale 1 02-25-2010 07:17 PM
    Kestrel Windmeter? Troy Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 6 09-20-2006 11:15 PM
    Windmeter info.?? Jake in NC Long Range Hunting & Shooting 13 02-24-2003 09:44 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC