Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Equipment Discussions


Reply

controlling lighting with chrono?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2011, 10:12 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 603
controlling lighting with chrono?

Would it work to build a shade over the chrono so you could control lighting or is it better to have them in the sun and just make sure the lighting stays consistant ( no clouds or shadows. ) I've been keeping mine in the shade of the awning at the range but I'm not sure if you are supposed to put them in the shade. If it doesn't hurt then why not build a shade for it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2011, 10:35 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 8,090
Re: controlling lighting with chrono?

I place a Styrofoam sheet over mine.

I noticed difference in readings between cloud and bright and when the metal shade support shadow was over one "eye" and not over the other.
__________________
I may be the slowest guy on the mountain . . . . but . . . . I'm on the mountain!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2011, 08:56 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 603
Re: controlling lighting with chrono?

That's a great idea! I was thinking of building a wood cover but your idea is so much more simple. How big is the sheet of styrofoam and how do you attach it? Do you still attach the shades that come with your chrono with the styrofoam on top of them or do you just use the styrofoam? Thanks for the reply.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2011, 10:42 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 8,090
Re: controlling lighting with chrono?

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortpants View Post
That's a great idea! I was thinking of building a wood cover but your idea is so much more simple. How big is the sheet of styrofoam and how do you attach it? Do you still attach the shades that come with your chrono with the styrofoam on top of them or do you just use the styrofoam? Thanks for the reply.
This was an on the spot fix.......There was a 12x24 piece of styrofoam laying around and some pieces of 1/2" PVC. A quick saw job, some holes drilled in the PVC and some grabber screws did the deed.

The piece styro isn't large enough as the shooting direction is nearly 180 degrees (South). When the sun is low in the sky I have to move the styro forwards and backwards to compensate for shadows.

No normal sky screens used. They styro is about the right shade of white..
__________________
I may be the slowest guy on the mountain . . . . but . . . . I'm on the mountain!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2011, 11:36 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 603
Re: controlling lighting with chrono?

Interesting! I didn't realize the shade had to be white. After reading your response I searched the net on the subject and found some things guys have tried and it seems white paper or plastic that allows some light through works well. Thanks again for responding, I learned something new!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2011, 10:33 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NW MT
Posts: 2,587
Re: controlling lighting with chrono?

Dont know if I am doing something wrong, but I dont use the screens when it is overcast, seems like I dont need them. And it is like that a lot here. Use them when bright and sunny?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2011, 02:46 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 8,090
Re: controlling lighting with chrono?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sp6x6 View Post
Dont know if I am doing something wrong, but I dont use the screens when it is overcast, seems like I dont need them. And it is like that a lot here. Use them when bright and sunny?
When its completely overcast I've found that screens aren't necessary. However, when bright periods occur between clouds, readings change.......big time. Thus the shade is a permanent fixture...simulating a completely overcast day.
__________________
I may be the slowest guy on the mountain . . . . but . . . . I'm on the mountain!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: controlling lighting with chrono?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camera Land Photo Lighting Specials gr8fuldoug Sponsors Marketplace 0 03-08-2011 10:08 AM
lighting can strike twice stxhunter Hog Hunting 2 12-17-2008 06:01 PM
Anyone ever chrono 300 WSM? goodgrouper Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 13 01-22-2008 10:39 PM
First strike of lighting with 338 AM Shawn Carlock Long Range Hunting & Shooting 14 05-07-2007 08:14 AM
chrono ?'s and more splattermatic Reloading 3 12-20-2006 02:03 PM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 31.41%
60 Votes
NO - 52.88%
101 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 15.71%
30 Votes
Total Votes: 191
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC